This is My Father’s World . . .

31 01 2011

and to my listening ears . . .

all nature sings, and round me rings . . .

the music of the spheres.

This is my Father’s world . . .

I rest me in the thought . . .

 

of rocks and trees, of skies and seas . . .

His hand the wonders wrought.

This is my Father’s world . . .

the birds their carols raise . . .

the morning light, the lily white . . .

declare their Maker’s praise.

This is my Father’s world . . .

He shines in all that’s fair . . .

in the rustling grass, I hear Him pass . . .

He speaks to me everywhere.

This is my Father’s world . . .

O, let me ne’er forget . . .

that though the wrong seems oft so strong . . .

God is the Ruler yet.

This is my Father’s world . . .

The battle is not done . . .

Jesus, who died, shall be satisfied . . .

and earth and heaven be one.

 

Perhaps it’s a bit odd that a traditional hymn would strike me as the perfect soundtrack to a week spent on the road with an abolitionist folk-rock band. But if you’d been there, I’m sure you’d completely understand. Our Father met us everywhere. In the beauty of creation, the mystery of music, the health of our bodies, and the hospitality of the saints. He met us with safety, with provision, with friendship, with wonder. We walked the streets with the hopeless, and we stood shoulder to shoulder with those who are fighting for justice.

I love Jubilee’s motto: “Doing what we love to undo what we hate.” Making music to set the captives free. No, the battle is not done, but this is our Father’s world. And though the wrong seems oft so strong, He rules and reigns in righteousness. Let the heavens and earth rejoice.

Adding to my list of one thousand gifts:

#17. Safe travel for nine people in three vehicles all the way from Seattle to Santa Cruz and back.
#18. Building new friendships and deepening old ones.
#19. Passionate people working together to rescue the oppressed.
#20. Sunshine and short sleeves in January.
#21. Snow-covered mountains so glorious you can almost hear them breaking forth into shouts of joy.
#22. Perfect harmony, both in music and in laughter.

 

* * *

Links:

Lots more photos from Jubilee’s West Coast Tour:
Album One
Album Two
BONUS: A playful video montage from footage Grace shot during the tour. Super fun.

Visit Ann Voskamp’s site to join in Multitudes on Mondays: One Thousand Gifts


Actions

Information

15 responses

31 01 2011
Sandy

Love this post today. I’m going to take that as my motto too.

2 02 2011
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Sandy! It’s a great motto for all of us, no?

31 01 2011
Hannah

What GORGEOUS photos! They’re perfect accompaniment to the joyful lyrics of this hymn.

2 02 2011
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Hannah!

31 01 2011
laura

These pictures just wrecked me with their beauty, Jeanne. I mean it. I just love the way you see. Thankful for you today.

2 02 2011
jeannedamoff

Thanks so much, Laura. I would never intentional wreck you, but I’m deeply honored in the wreckage. :)

Thankful for you, too. Love.

1 02 2011
spaghettipie

I sang the whole way through your post (I love that hymn!), and loved the visual track to go with them. Thank you so much for lovely words and pictures and song.

2 02 2011
jeannedamoff

You’re welcome, Tina. I have to sing it, too, and the singing takes me straight to rest. So good to remember Whose world this is.

Love to you.

1 02 2011
A Simple Country Girl

The image below of “His hands the wonders wrought” (the one of the outdoor columns), wow, I love that one. All the others are super, but that one strikes my fancy.

I had my library order your book and I finished it last night. I am still processing it all. What beauty of Christ you have shared in those pages.

Blessings.

1 02 2011
A Simple Country Girl

Oh, okay, after my third looksy, I take back my first comment. They are all yummy (but especially the columns, the bird, the funky building reflection, the dad wearing the pink backpack).

Blessings (again!)

2 02 2011
jeannedamoff

Thanks for your comments and kind words about the book. So glad and grateful the photos and our story added beauty to your world!

1 02 2011
deb@talk at the table

It’s all stunning.

and reminds that life is no?

2 02 2011
jeannedamoff

Yes! We feast at a table that stuns all the senses and stills the soul. Always such a joy for me, Deb, when you pull up a chair next to mine.

3 02 2011
Duane Scott

Stunning..

But what song has those words in it?

This is my Father’s world.

I have the tune of only that phrase in my head.

ARGH!

4 02 2011
jeannedamoff

Hey, Duane. Here’s a link to one of many YouTube versions:

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,590 other followers

