Alleluia, Our Father

18 04 2014

10168088_10151956417937352_865719595_nMusic is everywhere. On our phones, in our cars, piped into the grocery store and doctor’s office and elevator. It’s common to every culture, and often one of the first sounds babies produce. And yet, music is far from ordinary. It’s this remarkable, powerful, who-can-find-words-to-describe-it thing.

I don’t pretend to understand all the physics behind sound waves and harmony and why the blending of tones can hit the ear and simultaneously break the heart. I just know that music is more than. It’s mystery.

It’s a gift from God and a foretaste of eternity.

When Jacob nearly drowned he lost a lot, but one thing he didn’t lose was music. He can no longer carry a tune, but the music is inside him and rises up and out of him, a fragrant offering to His creator who hears with ears tuned to our hearts and not our ability to match pitch.

Some mornings, after we read the Bible and pray together, Jacob and I sit at the piano and sing. Today, Good Friday, was one of those mornings. With hearts full of the wonder of redemption and the scandal of a love that lays everything down not only for His friends but for the vilest, most hateful enemy, we lifted our voices to the One whose death is our birth and whose life is our life.

And I decided to do something I’ve never done before. I decided to record one song on my phone and to post it here, not because it’s musically superior in any way, but because it’s true. And anyone who has ever worshiped with Jacob knows that it doesn’t get any more real than the mask-less offering that rises from his brokenness in gratitude for the grace that makes all things beautiful.

So, today you’re invited into our living room, to sit beside the antique upright grand piano, and to enter the courts of the King, simply, humbly, and amazed by His grace.

Alleluia, Our Father

Lyrics:

Alleluia, our Father,
For giving us Your Son
Sending Him into the world
to be given up for man.
Knowing we would bruise Him
and smite Him from the earth
Alleluia, our Father,
in His death is our birth
Alleluia, our Father,
in His life is our life.

Good Friday, my friends. From me and Jacob, with love.


Actions

Information

14 responses

18 04 2014
ro elliott

Oh my… Just speechless… The worship of angels…. Thanks for sharing…beautiful Good Friday worship . Happy Easter to you and Jacob!!!!

19 04 2014
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Ro. A glorious Easter to you, too. xo

18 04 2014
lschontos

Oh Jeanne and Jacob. Thank you so much. “…why the blending of tones can hit the ear and simultaneously break the heart.” As Ann says, “Just this.”
Have a blessed and joyful Easter.

19 04 2014
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Linda. Wishing you a beautiful Easter, too. Much love. xo

18 04 2014
Barbara

Many thanks for allowing me to share your beautiful and heartfelt worship! Praising God for you, for Jacob, and for HIS son, our Saviour!

19 04 2014
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Barbara. I hope you have a wonderful and worshipful Easter.

18 04 2014
Elly

I’m about to cry. I feel like I wanna tell you this long story for you to understand the extent to which this post resonated with me. But that would take so much time so I’ll just put it this way: I experienced the same feelings about music very intensely today…It moved me in such a way, I wondered at it’s power. Your post really clarified my feelings to me! And then we come to the song! What beautiful lyrics, and melody! I am not too sure I can gather from this post who exactly Jacob is, but I can see that He is someone who has encountered the grace and love of God, and who loves God no matter what. I am so humbled by the post and the song. The Holy Spirit dances on every line you write, sealing it…I know because I feel the swing in my heart that is activated by His touch alone. Be ABUNDANTLY blessed. And may the Lord pour out more of His spirit on both you and Jacob. Please, let Jacob know, that His voice and heart have been mightily used by the Lord in the life of a young woman learning to follow him :)

18 04 2014
jeannedamoff

Thank you so much, Elly, for your kind words and for taking the time to articulate your thoughts. Jacob is our son. He’s almost 33, and he lives with brain injury from a near-fatal drowning accident he suffered at fifteen. But he has a beautiful faith in Jesus, and he has taught me so much about the way God brings good out of even the hardest things in life.

Much love to you in your journey with the Lord. Thanks, again, for sharing your heart with me. xo

18 04 2014
jodyo70

Precious and beautiful, Jeanne. Thank you for sharing this…did you write it? Just lovely. Jody

19 04 2014
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Jody. No, I didn’t write it. I first learned this song in college. I don’t know who wrote it, but it has always resonated with me in the deeps. Love and the loveliest of Easters to you. xo

19 04 2014
pastordt

May you and Jacob and all whom you love be abundantly blessed this Easter. Thank you, Jeanne.

19 04 2014
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Diana. I pray the same for you and yours. Much love. xo

19 04 2014
Nana Midcap

Oh, Jeanne, thank you so much for sharing the worship! I have not heard that song in years! It was one of my most favorite songs from the Prayer Group days. Have a blessed Celebration of His Resurrection.

21 04 2014
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Nana! Prayer Group had so many beautiful worship songs, didn’t we? I’m not sure we realized at the time what a gift that season was to all of us. I hope you had a beautiful Easter, too.

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,624 other followers

