El Cinco de Mayo

5 05 2004

Hola, chicos y chicas!

Sound the trumpets, o ye trumpet sounder-types! Today is a very important day.

Before you jump to conclusion-istos, though, I’m not referring to the holiday celebrating Latino culture. Today is special for another reason. It’s a day of festive gala wonderment and jiggyness. A day to dance in the streets with tambourines and things that make clicky noises, shouting, “Woo Hoo” and “Wootie Hootie!” Let this great day be remembered always, and let the story be passed down from generation to generation, told by fathers to their children and by children to their imaginary friends.

May 5, 2004. Today is George’s and my twenty-fifth wedding anniversary. Which prompts one of the philosophical questions of the ages: How did we get so old?

Besides dancing in the streets, there’s something you can do to help us celebrate. We are planning to go off on an adventure somewhere later this summer. Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to suggest places we should go! Anywhere in the world. On your marks, get set, . . . . GO!

♥ EZ

THIS JUST IN: I was about to click “Post” and the doorbell rang. A dozen roses for me! Let the whoop-de-doo begin!


Actions

Information

26 responses

5 05 2004
cocinelle

places

Monaco. That small island is sooooooo beautiful! Besides, it is right next to ole’ France-y-poo and that is not a bad place to look at either, although I prefer Salzburg or Prague.

5 05 2004
wordgeek

Congratulations!!!

I thought surely you and George had already been married for at least 25 years. Not because you look old, of course, (Supermodel) but because you are such a great couple. Congrats again.

Now, suggestions. Let me think… You know, the most exotic place I’ve ever been is Eugene, Oregon. So maybe you should ask someone else.

Jen and I are talking about going to Hawaii as a graduation present for yours truly some time next year, but I’m sure you’ve already been there.

5 05 2004
cocinelle

salpicon (aka fruit salad extraordinaire)

I usually make this around Cinco de Mayo because fruit is cheaper then due to the holiday (thank you, thank you to all Hispanic populations- goodness knows American holidays don’t put fruit front and center- we are chocolate candied ham type people) in the grocery circulars and this recipe calls for tons of fruit.
Remembering that you are a fruit eater makes me send this to you. It is from my Colombian friend Adriana and it is tres tres yummy (Rico, Rico, I mean!- got to keep the language in keeping with the holiday)

Salpicon

papaya (Adriana says that this fruit is also a slang word for “stinky butt” in her country- if you don’t know why, go buy one, cut it open and check it out….I did [curiousity killed my olfactory glands and I left it out of the recipe])
watermelon sweetened condensed milk
banana (add last) half and half
pineapple whipped cream topping (Cool whip)
oranges
grapes
strawberries
mangoes
apples
cantaloupe
kiwi
All these should be cut up into bite size pieces (I am sure you know the oranges being cut first will keep the apples from going brown so quickly), and put in a large bowl. Add some half and half (don’t measure, just add what you think is enough), whipped cream topping, and sweetened condensed milk just before serving and mix it all together with the fruit. Serve. Enjoy. Try to figure out which one, if any, was the forbidden fruit 🙂

5 05 2004
ilitherian

i hear limbo is remarkably mediocre this time of year.

i think new zealand would be awesome. but ever since the lord of the rings movies came out i think they’ve gotten a bit crowded.

happy anniversary.

love,
luke

5 05 2004
jeannedamoff

Heh. Eugene, Orgegon is not high on my dream list.

We’ve never been to Hawaii. George and I have experienced much of the U.S. of A. (i.e., the forty-eight contiguous), but our only overseas adventure was England/Wales in September 2002.

There are so many places I’d love to see. It will be hard to choose!

5 05 2004
jeannedamoff

Re: places

Mmmm. Monaco would be cool! And I’d love to visit France. Or Salzburg. Too many beautiful places!

Maybe we’ll just go to Eugene, Oregon. (Not.)

5 05 2004
jeannedamoff

Re: salpicon (aka fruit salad extraordinaire)

“chocolate candied ham”? ACK.

Is that “banana half and half”? or banana and half and half. And is it “pineapple whipped cream topping”? Es muy confusamento.

This recipe sounds RICO indeed! Rich and sweet. How long does this keep? Just one each of all those fruits will make a huge salad. We don’t have many eaters left around here. Maybe I’ll make it when Luke comes home. I’ll tell him it’s “stinky butt salad.” Yummm.

5 05 2004
jeannedamoff

Umm . . . is “limbo” a dance or place?

New Zealand is definitely on my list. It’s one of the first places I mentioned when we started talking about going somewhere. Do you suppose they have any B&Bs in Lothlorien?

xo, Momzy

5 05 2004
cocinelle

Re: salpicon (aka fruit salad extraordinaire)

Sorry about the confusion. I fixed it on my journal entry, but forgot to come back and tinker with it here. It should read:
bananas(go in last)
half and half

So, never you fear about having to scour Kroger for watermelon sweetened condensed milk. They all should be separated. It doesn’t keep too long. Maybe two days tops after the original serving. You might want to try to make it on a second Sunday thingie. Or not. Keep it for when Luke the poet laureate returns home.

5 05 2004
gaia43

Happy Anniversary! Today is my parents anniversary too!! Congratulations on
a long succesful marriage!!!

5 05 2004
jetpacknomad

Congratulations, and may you have many more years of fulfilling weddedness.

IF I were married
AND I were having an anniversary,
THEN I would take my love to a factory and check out all the nifty machines.

5 05 2004
jetpacknomad

Congratulations, and may you have many more years of fulfilling weddedness.

IF I were married
AND I were having an anniversary,
THEN I would take my love to a factory and check out all the nifty machines.

5 05 2004
anonymitysmith

Congratulations and happy anniversary. May you both live to see at least one hundred and twenty-five more.

God’s peace.

–Taylor V. Smith

5 05 2004
anonymitysmith

Congratulations and happy anniversary. May you both live to see at least one hundred and twenty-five more.

God’s peace.

–Taylor V. Smith

6 05 2004
jeannedamoff

Thanks! Happy anniversary to your parents, too! How many years does this make for them?

6 05 2004
jeannedamoff

Thanks! Happy anniversary to your parents, too! How many years does this make for them?

6 05 2004
jeannedamoff

Thanks!

IF you get engaged
AND you want to take your love to a factory
THEN don’t tell her before she marries you, because, um . . .

6 05 2004
jeannedamoff

Thanks!

IF you get engaged
AND you want to take your love to a factory
THEN don’t tell her before she marries you, because, um . . .

6 05 2004
jeannedamoff

Whoa. Okay, let’s see. I would be 171 years old. Hmmm. Yeah, that’ll work. We’ll have a swing dance and invite everyone to the big 150th. Mark your calendar!

6 05 2004
jeannedamoff

Whoa. Okay, let’s see. I would be 171 years old. Hmmm. Yeah, that’ll work. We’ll have a swing dance and invite everyone to the big 150th. Mark your calendar!

6 05 2004
gaia43

Tricky~

Well, It is their 20th wedding anniversary, but they have been together for 24 years. They had me young and I was 3 yrs old AT their wedding! IT was actually my Mom’s birthday too! (they got married on her 18th!)

It is really nice to see marriages making it to marks like this! So much divorce and whatnot out there!

Congratulations again!!!

6 05 2004
gaia43

Tricky~

Well, It is their 20th wedding anniversary, but they have been together for 24 years. They had me young and I was 3 yrs old AT their wedding! IT was actually my Mom’s birthday too! (they got married on her 18th!)

It is really nice to see marriages making it to marks like this! So much divorce and whatnot out there!

Congratulations again!!!

6 05 2004
jeannedamoff

Re: Tricky~

Wow! You have an interesting history! It’s very cool that your parents have stuck together through the years. No doubt they encountered plenty of obstacles starting out so young. Congratulations to them, too. And happy birthday to your mom. :o)

6 05 2004
jeannedamoff

Re: Tricky~

Wow! You have an interesting history! It’s very cool that your parents have stuck together through the years. No doubt they encountered plenty of obstacles starting out so young. Congratulations to them, too. And happy birthday to your mom. :o)

10 05 2004
armored_mind

Moscow, Russia … That’d be the bestest place ever.
Go on a tour through Red Square … hoo boy.
i’m drooling over my sad devotion to pre-breakup russian militaria.

10 05 2004
armored_mind

Moscow, Russia … That’d be the bestest place ever.
Go on a tour through Red Square … hoo boy.
i’m drooling over my sad devotion to pre-breakup russian militaria.

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

