“Live your life without regress.”

12 01 2005

After lunch I unwrapped a dark chocolate Dove Promise and, as always, read the “promise” printed inside the foil wrapper.

Note: these little sayings do as good a job at making promises as fortune cookies do at telling fortunes. A typical fortune cookie these days provides lottery numbers and says something like, “Watch your cholesterol.” But I digress . . .

The foil was a bit crumpled, but I made out these words: “Live your life without regress.”

Huh? Live my life without moving backward? Doesn’t that just sort of happen naturally? One day follows the next. We get older. We move forward. Or could it possibly mean I should avoid midlife crisis-type regress? Don’t try to be younger than I am. Act my age. (I’ve never really understood that concept. Who gets to decide what each age is supposed to act like? I want that job.)

Then I read it again. The word was “regrets.”

Oh, please. That’s boring. I like “regress” better. At least it made me think.

~*~*~*~*~*~

I answered the phone this morning and heard a voice from the past. This is my reminder to myself to tell that story later. Gotta go . . .


Actions

Information

10 responses

12 01 2005
scarlet_arts

Looks like somebody beat you to that job.

I found this meme a couple of posts under yours on my friends list. Coincidence? I think not!

What Age Do You Act?

12 01 2005
scarlet_arts

Looks like somebody beat you to that job.

I found this meme a couple of posts under yours on my friends list. Coincidence? I think not!

What Age Do You Act?

12 01 2005
ragamuffen

I can not eevn begin to tell you how annoying fortune cookies have become. Even my kids want something more from the whole deal…it’s sad…but I will try and not regress tot he time when fortune cookies had fortunes in them.

12 01 2005
ragamuffen

I can not eevn begin to tell you how annoying fortune cookies have become. Even my kids want something more from the whole deal…it’s sad…but I will try and not regress tot he time when fortune cookies had fortunes in them.

13 01 2005
jeannedamoff

Hmmm. I think that person just took the job upon him/herself. I want to see some credentials. Some professional references. I’m not going down easy on this one.

Seriously. Who decides these things? I want answers. Or, if not answers, more chocolate. Yeah. Chocolate sounds good. And then a nap.

13 01 2005
jeannedamoff

Hmmm. I think that person just took the job upon him/herself. I want to see some credentials. Some professional references. I’m not going down easy on this one.

Seriously. Who decides these things? I want answers. Or, if not answers, more chocolate. Yeah. Chocolate sounds good. And then a nap.

13 01 2005
jeannedamoff

It is sad. But it makes me laugh. There must be something wrong with me.

13 01 2005
jeannedamoff

It is sad. But it makes me laugh. There must be something wrong with me.

18 01 2005
emma_furlong

what’s in a word

Oh Yes I definately agree with you. Regrets are boring and full of remorse. Whereas ex regressing has so much potential, more mileage if you like.
I go with regress,
Happy New Year by the way,
Em

18 01 2005
emma_furlong

what’s in a word

Oh Yes I definately agree with you. Regrets are boring and full of remorse. Whereas ex regressing has so much potential, more mileage if you like.
I go with regress,
Happy New Year by the way,
Em

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

