Over the Over the Rhine

4 04 2005

I laugh when people do stupid things. This is not mean, because, quite often I am the person doing the stupid thing. Today’s episode:

My autographed copy of Over the Rhine’s “Drunkard’s Prayer” arrived in the mail today. When I left to pick up my Monday afternoon discipleship-group girls, I popped it in the car’s CD player. The junior high is near my house, so the second song was just starting when I pulled up to the curb. Karin sang, “I was born to laugh; I learned to laugh through my tears . . .” and then a discordant, electronic, counter-melody began. Hmmm. Maybe they’re going for edgy here. Kinda fits the tone of the words. I mean, I really wanted to give this song a chance, but everything about the tinny notes was off. The meter, the key — it was like they’d just recorded some random, unrelated tune on top of an otherwise beautiful song and ruined it. Was this supposed to be art? How was I going to tell Mike Snyder that, as much as I wanted to love this song, it just didn’t work? It sounded like a radio station bleeding in, or . . .

a cell phone.

I missed the call. That’s okay. It’s hard to talk when you’re laughing.


Actions

Information

11 responses

4 04 2005
scarlet_arts

I think maybe you and I were separated at birth 😀

Let’s not bring up the time that I accidentally pressed the button that activates my garage door (while digging through my bag) and then – on impulse – frantically pressed it a second time before my dog got out of the house.

I was approximately 200km from home at the time.

4 04 2005
scarlet_arts

I think maybe you and I were separated at birth 😀

Let’s not bring up the time that I accidentally pressed the button that activates my garage door (while digging through my bag) and then – on impulse – frantically pressed it a second time before my dog got out of the house.

I was approximately 200km from home at the time.

4 04 2005
Anonymous

Funny!

You had me fooled right along with you! I once was so mad at my husband that I locked the bedroom door, then slammed it shut, before realizing that I had locked myself out instead of him! Very sheepishly, I had to ask him to let me in.

Lori Seaborg
http://www.keepingthehome.blogspot.com
Keeping the Home

4 04 2005
Anonymous

Funny!

You had me fooled right along with you! I once was so mad at my husband that I locked the bedroom door, then slammed it shut, before realizing that I had locked myself out instead of him! Very sheepishly, I had to ask him to let me in.

Lori Seaborg
http://www.keepingthehome.blogspot.com
Keeping the Home

7 04 2005
jeannedamoff

So, don’t keep me in suspense . . . did Harry get out??? ;o)

If we were separated at birth, then that must mean we’re twins, which further means I must be young and adorably cute. What a nice surprise!

♥ EZ

7 04 2005
jeannedamoff

So, don’t keep me in suspense . . . did Harry get out??? ;o)

If we were separated at birth, then that must mean we’re twins, which further means I must be young and adorably cute. What a nice surprise!

♥ EZ

7 04 2005
jeannedamoff

Re: Funny!

That’s too funny! The best thing about sharing a story on myself is hearing other people’s “stupid stories.” Thanks for sharing.

7 04 2005
jeannedamoff

Re: Funny!

That’s too funny! The best thing about sharing a story on myself is hearing other people’s “stupid stories.” Thanks for sharing.

18 04 2005
Anonymous

When I saw you mention “Over the Rhine” I thought I’d clicked on Mike’s site by mistake! lol!

18 04 2005
Anonymous

When I saw you mention “Over the Rhine” I thought I’d clicked on Mike’s site by mistake! lol!

18 04 2005
Anonymous

When I saw you mention “Over the Rhine” I thought I’d clicked on Mike’s site by mistake! lol!

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

