My Dinner With Jacob Action Figures

6 06 2005

This evening Jacob and I dined alone. I thought you might enjoy a transcript of our conversation:

I bless the food and start eating. He sits there staring at his plate.

Me: Aren’t you going to eat?
Jacob: I can’t without help.
Me: Yes, you can. You do it all the time.
Jacob: My muscle hurts.
Me: Which muscle?

He grabs his right biceps with his left hand.

Me: Well, I guess you’ll just have to do the best you can.

I continue eating. He picks up his fork and holds it poised in the air above the plate. His left hand remains on his biceps. I try not to look at him, so he won’t think he can manipulate me. He eats a few bites, then puts the fork down.

Jacob: I’m forbidden to eat any more.
Me: Oh, really? Who’s forbidding you?

He points up.

Me: God told you not to eat any more?
Jacob: He just gave me that order.
Me: Is that right. What did He say?
Jacob: He said, “Stop eating right now.”
Me (trying not to laugh): Jacob, it’s not good to make something up and say that God said it.

He grins. After a few moments he starts eating again. Then he puts his fork down.

Jacob: I’m so afraid to eat.
Me: Why?
Jacob: I’m afraid I might drop that food on the floor.
Me: If you drop it on the floor, we’ll clean it up. That’s no big deal.
Jacob: It is to my mind’s eye.

I smirk at him. He laughs. By now he has finished his chicken.

Jacob: I can’t eat those vegetables.
Me: You won’t get any cookies, then.

The dryer buzzes, and I leave to fold laundry. When I return he has finished all his food. I give him three cookies, and he says, “Thank you.” I guess his muscle doesn’t hurt, and God doesn’t forbid him, and he’s not afraid of making a mess on the floor when he eats cookies. πŸ˜‰

~*~*~*~*~*~*

Seattle in two days! Grace, Luke, and the Pacific Northwest. I’m sure I’ll have stories to tell. Until then be well, my dears.

♥ EZ


Actions

Information

51 responses

6 06 2005
allenb

Well, that’s because cookies are divine. God has a soft spot for cookies. πŸ™‚

I’m forbidden … I wonder if I can use that at work. Hmm…

6 06 2005
allenb

Well, that’s because cookies are divine. God has a soft spot for cookies. πŸ™‚

I’m forbidden … I wonder if I can use that at work. Hmm…

6 06 2005
allenb

Well, that’s because cookies are divine. God has a soft spot for cookies. πŸ™‚

I’m forbidden … I wonder if I can use that at work. Hmm…

6 06 2005
Anonymous

Wonderful

What a beautiful story. I love hearing you tell Jacob stories. It really is a blessing.

6 06 2005
Anonymous

Wonderful

What a beautiful story. I love hearing you tell Jacob stories. It really is a blessing.

6 06 2005
Anonymous

Wonderful

What a beautiful story. I love hearing you tell Jacob stories. It really is a blessing.

6 06 2005
Anonymous

Re: Wonderful

Last comment was from me, Craig.

6 06 2005
Anonymous

Re: Wonderful

Last comment was from me, Craig.

6 06 2005
Anonymous

Re: Wonderful

Last comment was from me, Craig.

7 06 2005
lbsteffy

Jacob is amazing. Is he not coming to Seattle with you? Will I get the pleasure to hang out with you guys? When and who will all be here? I’m anxious!

7 06 2005
lbsteffy

Jacob is amazing. Is he not coming to Seattle with you? Will I get the pleasure to hang out with you guys? When and who will all be here? I’m anxious!

7 06 2005
lbsteffy

Jacob is amazing. Is he not coming to Seattle with you? Will I get the pleasure to hang out with you guys? When and who will all be here? I’m anxious!

7 06 2005
Anonymous

sweet jacob

I loved this. Made me smile. I could picture it.

Mary in France who now needs to say that God told her not to eat so much. She needs to lose weight!

7 06 2005
Anonymous

sweet jacob

I loved this. Made me smile. I could picture it.

Mary in France who now needs to say that God told her not to eat so much. She needs to lose weight!

7 06 2005
Anonymous

sweet jacob

I loved this. Made me smile. I could picture it.

Mary in France who now needs to say that God told her not to eat so much. She needs to lose weight!

7 06 2005
jeannedamoff

Allen and Hobbes

You got that almost right. However, I’m pretty sure God’s soft spot is for chocolate cookies. πŸ˜‰

You know, Allen, you could try the “I’m forbidden” thing at work, but I doubt your boss would be any more convinced than I was. That reminds me of Calvin’s telling his teacher he couldn’t answer the math test questions because doing so was against his religion. I miss that comic strip. πŸ™‚

7 06 2005
jeannedamoff

Allen and Hobbes

You got that almost right. However, I’m pretty sure God’s soft spot is for chocolate cookies. πŸ˜‰

You know, Allen, you could try the “I’m forbidden” thing at work, but I doubt your boss would be any more convinced than I was. That reminds me of Calvin’s telling his teacher he couldn’t answer the math test questions because doing so was against his religion. I miss that comic strip. πŸ™‚

7 06 2005
jeannedamoff

Allen and Hobbes

You got that almost right. However, I’m pretty sure God’s soft spot is for chocolate cookies. πŸ˜‰

You know, Allen, you could try the “I’m forbidden” thing at work, but I doubt your boss would be any more convinced than I was. That reminds me of Calvin’s telling his teacher he couldn’t answer the math test questions because doing so was against his religion. I miss that comic strip. πŸ™‚

7 06 2005
jeannedamoff

Re: Wonderful

Thanks, Craig. Jacob pulls stuff like this all the time. He cracks us up. I should write more of them, because I don’t remember if I don’t write it.

7 06 2005
jeannedamoff

Re: Wonderful

Thanks, Craig. Jacob pulls stuff like this all the time. He cracks us up. I should write more of them, because I don’t remember if I don’t write it.

7 06 2005
jeannedamoff

Re: Wonderful

Thanks, Craig. Jacob pulls stuff like this all the time. He cracks us up. I should write more of them, because I don’t remember if I don’t write it.

7 06 2005
jeannedamoff

your happy day

Yes, Jacob is coming. And I certainly hope you will get the pleasure of hanging out with us! Plan on it. We arrive Wednesday (tomorrow) at 12:42 PM. All five of us will be there, plus a dozen other relatives. You may get more Damoffness than you can stand, sweetcakes. πŸ˜‰

See you SOON!

7 06 2005
jeannedamoff

your happy day

Yes, Jacob is coming. And I certainly hope you will get the pleasure of hanging out with us! Plan on it. We arrive Wednesday (tomorrow) at 12:42 PM. All five of us will be there, plus a dozen other relatives. You may get more Damoffness than you can stand, sweetcakes. πŸ˜‰

See you SOON!

7 06 2005
jeannedamoff

your happy day

Yes, Jacob is coming. And I certainly hope you will get the pleasure of hanging out with us! Plan on it. We arrive Wednesday (tomorrow) at 12:42 PM. All five of us will be there, plus a dozen other relatives. You may get more Damoffness than you can stand, sweetcakes. πŸ˜‰

See you SOON!

7 06 2005
jeannedamoff

Re: sweet jacob

The Jacob diet plan. It’s a little eccentric, but I imagine it gets great results, if you stick with it. πŸ˜‰

At least one Damoff is Francing it this summer. I’ll e-mail you more, my dear friend who always looks great to my mind’s eye.

Love, J.A., le T. de la M., a la M., the BCD

7 06 2005
jeannedamoff

Re: sweet jacob

The Jacob diet plan. It’s a little eccentric, but I imagine it gets great results, if you stick with it. πŸ˜‰

At least one Damoff is Francing it this summer. I’ll e-mail you more, my dear friend who always looks great to my mind’s eye.

Love, J.A., le T. de la M., a la M., the BCD

7 06 2005
jeannedamoff

Re: sweet jacob

The Jacob diet plan. It’s a little eccentric, but I imagine it gets great results, if you stick with it. πŸ˜‰

At least one Damoff is Francing it this summer. I’ll e-mail you more, my dear friend who always looks great to my mind’s eye.

Love, J.A., le T. de la M., a la M., the BCD

7 06 2005
allenb

Re: Allen and Hobbes

(laughin’) I miss it too. Mr. Watterson was not only a briliant illustrator, he also touched on some deeply beautiful and profound things. The one where Calvin finds the injured baby racoon and runs off to get his Mom, and he answers Hobbes question by saying “You don’t get to be a Mom unless you can fix everything.” Or when the racoon died, and he said “I know he’s dead out here, but I still feel him in my heart.” (something like that). Made me squawl like a 2 year old.

I thought the way he ended the strip was just perfect. πŸ™‚ Although, I wish he wouldn’t have.

7 06 2005
allenb

Re: Allen and Hobbes

(laughin’) I miss it too. Mr. Watterson was not only a briliant illustrator, he also touched on some deeply beautiful and profound things. The one where Calvin finds the injured baby racoon and runs off to get his Mom, and he answers Hobbes question by saying “You don’t get to be a Mom unless you can fix everything.” Or when the racoon died, and he said “I know he’s dead out here, but I still feel him in my heart.” (something like that). Made me squawl like a 2 year old.

I thought the way he ended the strip was just perfect. πŸ™‚ Although, I wish he wouldn’t have.

7 06 2005
allenb

Re: Allen and Hobbes

(laughin’) I miss it too. Mr. Watterson was not only a briliant illustrator, he also touched on some deeply beautiful and profound things. The one where Calvin finds the injured baby racoon and runs off to get his Mom, and he answers Hobbes question by saying “You don’t get to be a Mom unless you can fix everything.” Or when the racoon died, and he said “I know he’s dead out here, but I still feel him in my heart.” (something like that). Made me squawl like a 2 year old.

I thought the way he ended the strip was just perfect. πŸ™‚ Although, I wish he wouldn’t have.

8 06 2005
Anonymous

jacob and luke and grace

thanks for reading my site… it’s been lovely to have luke here. he’s been a blessing — hiking with cory; going to star wars with kenji and cory; laughing with krissy and enjoying the beach with us. he’s mowed the lawn for us and played with the baby that i babysit. he’s a dear young man.

he’ll leave on the bus today in 2 hours – our loss – your gain!! so glad he is coming to you and grace.

blessings and peace to you today — and at grace’s graduation and baptism — congratulations.

8 06 2005
Anonymous

jacob and luke and grace

thanks for reading my site… it’s been lovely to have luke here. he’s been a blessing — hiking with cory; going to star wars with kenji and cory; laughing with krissy and enjoying the beach with us. he’s mowed the lawn for us and played with the baby that i babysit. he’s a dear young man.

he’ll leave on the bus today in 2 hours – our loss – your gain!! so glad he is coming to you and grace.

blessings and peace to you today — and at grace’s graduation and baptism — congratulations.

8 06 2005
Anonymous

jacob and luke and grace

thanks for reading my site… it’s been lovely to have luke here. he’s been a blessing — hiking with cory; going to star wars with kenji and cory; laughing with krissy and enjoying the beach with us. he’s mowed the lawn for us and played with the baby that i babysit. he’s a dear young man.

he’ll leave on the bus today in 2 hours – our loss – your gain!! so glad he is coming to you and grace.

blessings and peace to you today — and at grace’s graduation and baptism — congratulations.

8 06 2005
Anonymous

Re: jacob and luke and grace

oh by the way, that was me – Ruth Droullard πŸ™‚

8 06 2005
Anonymous

Re: jacob and luke and grace

oh by the way, that was me – Ruth Droullard πŸ™‚

8 06 2005
Anonymous

Re: jacob and luke and grace

oh by the way, that was me – Ruth Droullard πŸ™‚

8 06 2005
jeannedamoff

Re: jacob and luke and grace

Thanks, Ruth. πŸ™‚ We just returned to the hotel, it’s after 1:00 AM body time, and I’m exhausted. But it has been a wonderful day with Grace and Luke. I’ve missed them both terribly. My eyes can’t get enough of looking at them, and I want to hug them and not let go.

Luke loves your family. You sound like remarkable people! Thanks again for making him so welcome.

♥ Jeanne

8 06 2005
jeannedamoff

Re: jacob and luke and grace

Thanks, Ruth. πŸ™‚ We just returned to the hotel, it’s after 1:00 AM body time, and I’m exhausted. But it has been a wonderful day with Grace and Luke. I’ve missed them both terribly. My eyes can’t get enough of looking at them, and I want to hug them and not let go.

Luke loves your family. You sound like remarkable people! Thanks again for making him so welcome.

♥ Jeanne

8 06 2005
jeannedamoff

Re: jacob and luke and grace

Thanks, Ruth. πŸ™‚ We just returned to the hotel, it’s after 1:00 AM body time, and I’m exhausted. But it has been a wonderful day with Grace and Luke. I’ve missed them both terribly. My eyes can’t get enough of looking at them, and I want to hug them and not let go.

Luke loves your family. You sound like remarkable people! Thanks again for making him so welcome.

♥ Jeanne

11 06 2005
Anonymous

Hey! My mom and I just read your entry aloud. We enjoyed it greatly. Thank you so much for being so generous while I mooched off of you guys in Seattle. You’ve raised three amazing children who I love more than I could possibly express.

I miss you guys already. love, nathan

11 06 2005
Anonymous

Hey! My mom and I just read your entry aloud. We enjoyed it greatly. Thank you so much for being so generous while I mooched off of you guys in Seattle. You’ve raised three amazing children who I love more than I could possibly express.

I miss you guys already. love, nathan

11 06 2005
Anonymous

Hey! My mom and I just read your entry aloud. We enjoyed it greatly. Thank you so much for being so generous while I mooched off of you guys in Seattle. You’ve raised three amazing children who I love more than I could possibly express.

I miss you guys already. love, nathan

11 06 2005
hershey_s

grins

jacob is just terrific. thanks for sharing the moment. πŸ˜› i’m putting a link to your blog on mine right now, assuming you have no objections. don’t know why i haven’t gotten around to it earlier.

11 06 2005
hershey_s

grins

jacob is just terrific. thanks for sharing the moment. πŸ˜› i’m putting a link to your blog on mine right now, assuming you have no objections. don’t know why i haven’t gotten around to it earlier.

11 06 2005
hershey_s

grins

jacob is just terrific. thanks for sharing the moment. πŸ˜› i’m putting a link to your blog on mine right now, assuming you have no objections. don’t know why i haven’t gotten around to it earlier.

13 06 2005
jeannedamoff

Re: grins

Of course I have no objections! Thanks for the link. πŸ™‚

13 06 2005
jeannedamoff

Re: grins

Of course I have no objections! Thanks for the link. πŸ™‚

13 06 2005
jeannedamoff

Re: grins

Of course I have no objections! Thanks for the link. πŸ™‚

13 06 2005
jeannedamoff

We loved having you with us, Nathan! I’m so glad you came.

See you in a few weeks.

Love, Auntie J.

13 06 2005
jeannedamoff

We loved having you with us, Nathan! I’m so glad you came.

See you in a few weeks.

Love, Auntie J.

13 06 2005
jeannedamoff

We loved having you with us, Nathan! I’m so glad you came.

See you in a few weeks.

Love, Auntie J.

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

