Quietness and Confidence

13 01 2011

This morning I opened Daily Light, read the key verse, and immediately felt myself relax. “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee.”

I love that verse. No matter how many times I read or recall it, the effect is the same. I remember who God is — the King of kings and Lord of lords, who does according to His will in the armies of heaven and among the inhabitants of the earth, and no one can stay His hand. I remember where God is — enthroned in the heavens far above all rule, authority, might and dominion. I also remember who and where I am — His child, held in the palm of His hand, hidden under the shadow of His wing, raised up and seated in heavenly places in Christ.

I remember, and I rest. Then I read on.

“In quietness and confidence shall be your strength.”

“The effect of righteousness shall be quietness and assurance forever.”

I pause and read those two verses aloud, and I think of all the lies that bombard us, promising fulfillment but only robbing us of peace. How many times are we told to stand up for our rights? To demand a hearing? To out-shout the competition? Believe in yourself. Promote yourself. Do whatever it takes to make your dream come true.

Quietness. The way of the cross runs smack across common sense.

Instead of self-actualization, self-crucifixion.

Instead of self-esteem, other-esteem.

Instead of pursuit of happiness, pursuit of holiness.

Instead of entitlement, an emptying of oneself in worship and service.

“Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee.” Where am I placing my confidence today? Where are you placing yours?

* * *

Today’s post is part of Bonnie Gray’s Faith Jam, answering the question: How is God calling you to be more confident and bold? To read more posts or share your own, visit her site.
FaithBarista_FreshJamBadgeG


Actions

Information

12 responses

13 01 2011
Melissa from the Blue House

As always, great blog post with really pretty pictures. 🙂 These words were wonderful for me to read today, because I CANNOT outshout the competition or outlawyer my ex-husband’s slimy lawyer, and the custody of my kids is on the line. It keeps me awake at night because sadly, I forget all too easily the true source of Peace.

13 01 2011
jeannedamoff

Oh, Melissa. May the God of all peace comfort your heart! I can’t even imagine what you’re going through. Just reading your words tempts me to worry, and I know it has to be a thousand times harder for you to lean into the Lord and trust His sovereign wisdom and power. I pray He pours grace into every corner of your soul and that His promises parade themselves through your thoughts like the horses and chariots of fire that protected Elisha when the Syrian army surrounded his house. (2 Kings 6.) God really is enthroned in heaven. May His will be done in your life and your children’s lives.

Praying with you. Trusting with you.
Love, Jeanne

13 01 2011
Faith Barista Bonnie

Dear Jeanne,

What a special treat it is to sip your brew! I got so excited to see your cup waiting for me on the table!

The way of the cross is narrow, but like a trailhead that leads to spectacular waterfall, we make our way and find rest. In abundance.

“Instead of self-actualization, self-crucifixion.

Instead of self-esteem, other-esteem.

Instead of pursuit of happiness, pursuit of holiness.”

I love how you led us down a path to this refreshing truth in this post, Jeanne.

Isaiah 26:3 is my life verse. 😉 What a gem.

Thank you for adding your wonderful voice to today’s jam!

13 01 2011
jeannedamoff

You’re welcome, Bonnie. Thanks for hosting and for these lovely remarks. So glad you enjoyed my “brew.” 🙂

13 01 2011
Anna T

Thank you so much Jeanne- as always God’s words are so timely! I am going through something difficult as well and my “instinct” is to shout the truth from the rooftops! But I know God has placed me in a season of quiet trust. In 2 Samuel 22:1-3 it says He is our rock, our fortress, our deliverer, our strength, our trust, our shield, our salvation, our stronghold, our refuge, our support, our reward, our judge, our lamp and our power. Amen!

13 01 2011
jeannedamoff

So glad this was a timely reminder for you, Anna. I don’t know your situation, but I know how tempted I can be to vindicate myself or someone I care about in the face of injustice or accusation. It’s SO hard to be quiet and still and leave it all in God’s hands. May He give you abundant grace and patience in the midst of this difficult time.

13 01 2011
laura

I so love these insteads. I need to claim these also. And that quietness. Oh, yes. There is peace there.

13 01 2011
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Laura. If only it were enough to simply know the insteads! I need to remind myself of them daily as well. And quietness doesn’t come naturally to me either. This “rest” business is hard work. 😉

13 01 2011
Amy Nabors

Thank you so much for sharing these words. The past few days my mind has been unfocused. Allowing my thoughts to focus on circumstances instead of Him so the peace hasn’t been found. I so needed to be reminded of this. Thank you.

13 01 2011
jeannedamoff

You’re welcome with all my heart.

15 01 2011
Glynn

Our confidence comes when we direct ourselves to others and focus on serving. We have a good example for that, I think — the example on the cross. Good post, Jeanne.

15 01 2011
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Glynn!

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

