My Beloved Speaks

30 03 2011


Arise, my love, my beautiful one,
and come away,


for behold, the winter is past;
the rain is over and gone.


The flowers appear on the earth,
the time of singing has come,


and the voice of the turtledove
is heard in our land.


The fig tree ripens its figs,
and the vines are in blossom;
they give forth fragrance.


Arise, my love, my beautiful one,
and come away.


O my dove, in the clefts of the rock,
in the crannies of the cliff,
let me see your face,
let me hear your voice,


for your voice is sweet,
and your face is lovely.

The voice of my beloved!
Behold, he comes,
leaping over the mountains,
bounding over the hills.
My beloved is like a gazelle
or a young stag.

My beloved is mine, and I am his.

(Selected verses from Song of Solomon 2)

It’s the season of resurrection, new life erupting everywhere. Trees that stood naked all winter, now swell with sap, color budding. Seeds long asleep, hidden from sight, warmed by sun on soil and softened by rain, their tender shoots break through dry husks, inching their way toward the light.

And we, who hope in Christ, remember His death on a naked tree. We remember a tomb that could not keep Life from bursting forth. We inch our way toward Easter and its promised Light, and the earth itself proclaims. Winter is past. The flowers appear. Death cannot hold its prey. Behold, He comes!

Soon. Very soon.

 

Preparing for Easter in community at A Holy Experience.


Actions

Information

16 responses

30 03 2011
katdish

Beautiful pictures and scriptures. Trying not to be insanely jealous that you have wisteria AND dogwood trees…

My two favorites.

31 03 2011
jeannedamoff

Don’t be jealous. Come see them! 🙂

30 03 2011
John Bell

Thanks for sharing the photos and thoughts. It started my day with a smile. Also, the art for a Holy Experience us really nice.

31 03 2011
jeannedamoff

You’re welcome, John! So glad it made you smile.

31 03 2011
Gena Parris

Really really beautiful. Woke me up to this passage today. Thank you.

31 03 2011
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Gena! I’m so glad you stopped by and appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts.

31 03 2011
tinuviel

Ah, East Texas! I miss spring visits to my sisters at SFASU. Thank you for the glimpse of your spring. The Lord be with you!

(Heather G. gifted me your book some time back; I came to the blog from Ann V’s community.)

31 03 2011
jeannedamoff

I went to SFA! (A loooonnngg time ago.) Thanks for telling me about the book. How sweet of Heather G. 🙂

Lovely to have you here from Ann’s. She’s amazing.

31 03 2011
Cherry

Visiting from A Holy Experience … this was so beautiful ~ thanks! Love the photos and the words, calling us to intimacy with our Creator.

31 03 2011
jeannedamoff

So glad you stopped by, Cherry. Thanks for your kind words. A blessed Easter season to you.

31 03 2011
craig

Amen Jan – Spring is never swallowed up by winter. And your pictures are amazing – strung together with the Song of Solomon. Like that. Thank you. God bless you.

31 03 2011
jeannedamoff

Nice to see you again, Craig! Thanks for your sweet comment.

31 03 2011
Patti Hanan

I love how you paired the pictures with Song of Solomon. And I love your words. It’s the season of resurrection, new life erupting everywhere. The entire earth praises our Creator!

31 03 2011
jeannedamoff

Yes, Patti! I love that about Spring. Life, life, life. No wonder the Bible says we are without excuse if we don’t recognize Him in the works of His hands.

Thanks so much.

1 04 2011
deb@talk at the table

Spring just makes me tremble..
so I loved this of course.
Even though we are still awaiting the last of the snow to say bye bye.

3 04 2011
bluecottonmemory

So beautiful, the rebirth of the world you show – and how amazingly it prepares our hearts, reminds our hearts that because of Jesus we can be reborn just as beautiful!

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

