One Year

25 04 2011

On April 24, 2010, at 4:20 AM, after twenty-five hours of labor, you arrived.

A few hours after you were born, the scent of God’s breath still on your skin, your perfection was stunning.

Every sweet little wrinkle by design. You wrapped us all around that tiny finger.

Two days old, we gazed into your eyes with wonder, and you looked back at blurry but unbridled adoration. Say hello to your family, little Sparrow. Oh, how we love you!

Almost two weeks old, and I don’t think I let more than an hour or two go by without taking more pictures of you. Can you blame me?

We spent the first month of your life with you and your parents, and then we had to return to Texas.

It was hard to say good-bye, but a month later you joined us in Colorado for the 4th of July. You had already grown so much, and I took lots more pictures.

After a week we parted ways again, you back to Seattle’s splendid summer and us to the Texas heat.

No surprise that I decided to join you there in August. We rode the ferry to Bainbridge Island . . .

and took a stroll around Green Lake. You can’t see much of the scenery in these pictures. Maybe I was a little enthralled with your face.

I came to see you again in September, and we dressed you in an outfit your mommy wore when she was a baby. You made funny faces for me, so of course, I took a lot more pictures.

I had to wait until Thanksgiving to see you again. That was more than two months. My camera really missed you and made up for all that lost time.

You were seven months old then. Sitting up was one of your best skills. Along with having your picture taken.

We dressed you in another one of your mommy’s dresses and took some Christmas pictures. (As opposed to the many thousands of other pictures, which were not specifically taken for Christmas.)

In January, your mommy and daddy’s band, Jubilee, had a west coast tour. They played music and spoke about the fight against human trafficking, but I think I had the best job. I got to be tour nanny! They also asked me to take pictures. I took some of the band and a lot of you.

That was the last time we hung out in person, but we’ve had some great video chats since then. You’ve showed me how you can crawl, and walk, and flap your arms, and say, “Whoa!” and “Dadadadada.” Also, your mommy has been good about posting photos and short videos so I can see you and hear you. Yesterday was your birthday, and we watched you open the presents we sent. Then we sang to you, and you smiled.

I took a lot of screen captures during our chat. You looked so cute in your Easter dress. Of course, I would have taken them if you’d been wearing a paper sack.

Happy Birthday, sweet Harper Sparrow! What a wonderful first year you’ve had. You are loved and cherished by your parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, and everyone else who knows you. And you are especially loved by Jesus. He knows the plans He has for you, and every word He has spoken concerning you will be accomplished. Not one will fail. His eye is always, always on the Sparrow.

We can’t wait to see you again in June when you come to Texas to meet your new cousin, Naomi Belle. Don’t be surprised if I take a few pictures.

Giving thanks in community for:

#84 a whole year with our precious Sparrow
#85 memories etched in our hearts and preserved in pixels
#86 skype!
#87 the gift of family
#88 God’s promises to guard our going out and coming in, from this time forth and forever

To join the chorus of thanksgiving, visit Ann Voskamp’s site


Actions

Information

12 responses

25 04 2011
Glynn

These photos also describe the joy in the heart of the photographer. 🙂

25 04 2011
jeannedamoff

Indeed! The heart of the photographer may explode for joy.

25 04 2011
Patricia (Pollywog Creek)

I’ve been in love with your beautiful Sparrow since the day she was born. She is a doll baby…and does the time just slip away from us, or what?

I believe that grandchildren are born with grandmother magnets that are attracted to our hearts and cameras. It’s not our fault. It just happens. I took a few photos at our Easter gathering yesterday with my beautiful daughter-in-law Kristin’s family. I’m embarrassed that there are hardly any photos of any one but the little ones. There really were other people there and I love them very much…but my camera just automatically pointed at those little ones with grandmother magnets (and my beautiful daughter Emily). Every one else will just have to forgive me.

Love you Jeanne…I pray that you had a beautiful Resurrection Day weekend and that the joy of Easter stays full in your heart in the days and weeks and months to come.

Patricia

25 04 2011
jeannedamoff

Thank you, sweet Patricia. Yes, it’s hard to believe a whole year has passed. And you are right about the magnets. We’re powerless against that kind of force. 😉

Love you, too. I’m so sorry you’ve been in pain. Praying for God’s tender mercies to sustain you moment by moment. Easter joy to you, too! xo

25 04 2011
Barbara Thayer

What a blessing to see this little princess! Children are such a blessing and grandchildren are especially precious! I am currently babysitting our almost two year old Gavin. Little ones with their chubby cheeks and sweet smiles are so fresh from heaven we can smell their scent! Thank you for sharing with us today. Love your photography!

27 04 2011
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Barbara! They are truly a treasure.

27 04 2011
laura

Happy belated to your sweet Harper! I have seen the joy of her crashing into our world–your world–through your photos here, Jeanne. Life is so good. God gives us such beauty.

27 04 2011
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Laura! You are kind to not only indulge me but to share my Harper delight. Yes, life is good, and the beauty astounding. Love to you.

27 04 2011
deb colarossi

okay… I’m officially jealous 🙂

and always grateful for Skype.

27 04 2011
jeannedamoff

Don’t be jealous, Deb. I’ll Skype with you, too. 😉

30 04 2011
Simply Darlene

All the images are beautiful, but that 5th one down, it’s a tracing of God’s love, is it not?

Happy Birthday Little One!!

Blessings

30 04 2011
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Darlene! Such wonder in the newborn-mother connection. Holy moments indeed. xo

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

