Fairest Lord Jesus

23 05 2011

Ruler of all nature,

O thou of God and man the Son,

Thee will I cherish, Thee will I honor,

Thou, my soul’s glory, joy, and crown.

Fair are the meadows,

Fairer still the woodlands,

Robed in the blooming garb of spring:

Jesus is fairer,

Jesus is purer

Who makes the woeful heart to sing.

Fair is the sunshine,

Fairer still the moonlight,

And all the twinkling starry host:

Jesus shines brighter,

Jesus shines purer

Than all the angels heaven can boast.

Beautiful Savior!

Lord of all the nations!

Son of God and Son of Man!

Glory and honor,

Praise, adoration,

Now and forevermore be Thine.

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just,
whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable,
if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise,
think about these things.”

Philippians 4:8

* * *

Giving thanks in community for:

#104 This hymn in church yesterday, and the memory of singing it at our wedding
#105 Jesus, still and always fairest
#106 Naomi Belle, due tomorrow! Such joy! (Dear Jesus, please be near.)
#107 All things held together by Him, all things in His sight
#108 Deliciously simple meals of vegetables seasoned with herbs, picked fresh from the garden

To join the chorus of thanksgiving, visit Ann Voskamp’s site


Actions

Information

34 responses

23 05 2011
Windows and Paper Walls

Don’t tell me you took all these pictures? I don’t think I can handle any more admiration for you.

23 05 2011
Windows and Paper Walls

Is it admiration “for” or admiration “of”? Whatevs. You get the drift.

23 05 2011
jeannedamoff

I think it’s “for” and yes, ma’am, I took all these pictures. Please don’t hate me forever.

xo

23 05 2011
Windows and Paper Walls

Never. I’m just gonna go pimp ya some more.

23 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Ha! Be my guest. 😉

23 05 2011
Sandra Heska King

Beautiful!

23 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Sandra!

23 05 2011
Kristin Bridgman

Oh my, breathtaking, beautiful pictures…You are quite the photographer and God is quite the creator, isn’t He? 🙂
So glad I came by from Ann’s place!

23 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Thank you so much, Kristin. And welcome! Yes, God’s beauty is everywhere. What a privilege to simply bask in it.

23 05 2011
Barbara Thayer

The pictures are breathtaking! I love to look at nature and the older I get the more I appreciate God’s creativity. Thank you for sharing one of my favorite hymns and splendid pictures to go with it!

23 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Barbara. And you’re welcome. I love this hymn, too. It so beautifully captures God’s majesty as well as His intimacy — His power and His sweetness.

23 05 2011
Grace Walker

Lovely photos to go with a lovely hymn! My mind starting to recognize it and it was pleasing. : )
Thanks for sharing it!

23 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Grace. Yes. Such a lovely place for the mind to dwell.

23 05 2011
Patricia (Pollywog Creek)

So, so beautiful, Jeanne…and my heart skips a beat just thinking about Naomi Belle. Yes, Jesus, please be near. Love and prayers for all of you. XOX

23 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Thank you, sweet Patricia. My heart is exploding! We appreciate your prayers so much!

23 05 2011
Jane

One of my favorite hymns! Adding the photos only adds to its rich lyrics; little comes close to the power of seeing God on display in nature! Thanks for bringing it to life in a new way for us.

24 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Jane. I agree. His fingerprints are everywhere — beauty drawing our hearts to worship.

Love to you.

24 05 2011
zena

the holy spirit is in this jeanne – very powerful…

~z

24 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Humble and grateful awe. Thank you, Zena.

24 05 2011
Mick

Ridiculous beauty. Soul-stirringly told. You’re a uniquely gifted seer, my friend. And I didn’t need the extravagant reminder. But it’s a nice opportunity to say so all the same.

Thank you. Came here by way of aholyexperience.com.

Mick
http://www.yourwritersgroup.com

24 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Ah, my dear, beauty-seeking friend. You do know you are one of the gifts? You must know. That you came here today, a happy grace. That you came by way of Ann’s, sweetness multiplied.

Love to you and your beautiful brood. xo

24 05 2011
Nicole @ Burning Bushes

Love this hymn and these photos….so amazing to trust that Jesus is purer and fairer than all this beauty around us. He is the lovely, pure, excellent and praiseworthy thought! Thanks for sharing such great photos and thanks.

24 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Nicole! And thanks so much for stopping by and adding your sweet voice to this chorus of praises to Him.

24 05 2011
Catherine Love

such beauty portrayed here.
thank you 🙂

24 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Catherine!

24 05 2011
bristolm

WOW! Beautiful. This is lovely! You post and your gifts of thanks. I’m so glad I stopped by and so glad you share!

24 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Thanks so much, bristolm. And welcome. I’m glad you stopped by, too.

25 05 2011
Maureen

Powerful, creative, inspiring. Thank you – a beautiful poem of joy!

27 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Maureen! Always a delight when you stop by.

26 05 2011
Simply Darlene

Miss Jeanne, some of these look like Pacific Northwest images, not just Texas. Maybe?

If this had a scratch-n-sniff feature I would cause a lot of problems with extensive computer screen sniffing.

Blessings.

27 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Good eye, Darlene! Photos #10, 14, 16, 19, 20, and 21 are all from around the PNW, including Seattle, Bellingham, the Orcas Islands, and the San Juan Islands. Eight were taken in Texas, three in Croatia, two in Nebraska, and one at Lake Michigan. I love imagining Him everywhere.

Also, I love the mental image of you scratching and sniffing your computer screen. You’re adorable. 🙂

Love, Jeanne

28 05 2011
Deborah Carr

I continually rest in the wonder of his creation…and the gift of this child {you} to capture the awe and beauty, then to set it to a song of praise. I found myself humming along…from image to image, grateful for the words and melody that reside within me. Grateful for a childhood that ingrained these old hymns in my heart. And, then…oh-so-very grateful for the mother and grandmother who ensured that faith became an essential part of my life. Thank you for the memory travels…

28 05 2011
jeannedamoff

How lovely! So much to be grateful for. So glad these words and pictures transported you there.

Much love.

7 06 2011
deb@talk at the table

Jeanne .
You are a wonder.

It was an honour to catch up last night and this morning… to “be” in your soul.
It is a very very beautiful thing.

xoxo

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

