Waiting

25 05 2011

It could be any time. We don’t know when, but we know it can’t be long. So we wait.

Her room is ready. The baby things washed and arranged, and we wait with uncontainable joy to finally see this little face we’ve all tried to imagine. We’ve dreamed of her, prayed for her, and we love her already, almost more than our hearts can bear.

This child, she will come. She must. And we will hold in our hands a wonder. One made in the image of two. One made in the image of nations. Those tiny fists, clenched around a history, they hold the hand of the Macedonian great grandfather, the Puerto Rican great grandmother, and countless other ancestors from around the globe. When we hold her tiny perfection, we will hold the whole world in our hands.

We wait with eager patience. We wait in sober prayer. Because we know that, between the waiting and the holding close, there’s the laboring to bring forth — the pain a woman willingly enters for the joy set before her. All her energy, all her longing, all of her being consumed in this one goal. New life.

As I think of Sarah’s labor, I lean into God’s mercy for His help and grace, and in all this waiting, I remember.

Another room has been prepared.

“Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also.”

I remember another labor and another coming, every bit as certain.

“And you will hear of wars and rumors of wars. See that you are not alarmed, for this must take place, but the end is not yet. For nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom, and there will be famines and earthquakes in various places. All these are but the beginning of the birth pains.”

With every passing day, the belly swells. We don’t know when, but the day is coming when the Sun of Righteousness will rise with healing in His wings. All things will be made right. All things redeemed.

For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us. For the creation waits with eager longing for the revealing of the sons of God . . . For we know that the whole creation has been groaning together in the pains of childbirth until now. And not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies . . . But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.

Jesus is coming again, and the whole creation groans, waiting with eager longing to taste redemption. We don’t know when, but we know it must be. The seed has been planted and a promise made that can’t be broken. And I search this heart of mine that explodes with love for a child I’ve not yet seen. Do I wait for Him with the same hilarious joy? Do I count the days, watching, longing for the Father to scoop us up, to hold the whole world in His hands, to gaze into our eyes and to finally see in sons from every nation His own image reflected back in perfection?

Beloved, we are God’s children now, and what we will be has not yet appeared; but we know that when he appears we shall be like him, because we shall see him as he is.

Jesus is coming again. I believe this.

How then should I live?

Let us know; let us press on to know the Lord; his going out is sure as the dawn; he will come to us as the showers, as the spring rains that water the earth.

The Spirit and the Bride say, “Come.” And let the one who hears say, “Come.” And let the one who is thirsty come; let the one who desires take the water of life without price.

He who testifies to these things says, “Surely I am coming soon.” Amen. Come, Lord Jesus!

* * *

From of old no one has heard or perceived by the ear, no eye has seen a God besides you, who acts for those who wait for him.

By His grace, I will live waiting.

Looking for New Life in community, and you’re invited.


Actions

Information

20 responses

25 05 2011
Grace

Amen. Come, Lord Jesus. And come, Naomi! We can’t wait to hold the whole world in our hands.

26 05 2011
jeannedamoff

As Harper would say, “Wow-wow!” Double wows indeed. Love her. Love you. xo

25 05 2011
danardoyle

What a beautiful post – and photo! Thanks for the inspiration!

26 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Thank you!

25 05 2011
zena

that song and that idea of jesus coming to us like spring rain…

i think that may be the only hint we’ll ever have.

~zena

26 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Yes. Spring rain. I love the gorgeous metaphors in scripture — images we can understand and yet always plumb for deeper and deeper layers. God is the Artist of artists!

What song are you thinking of, Zena?

27 05 2011
zena

(the video is pretty lackluster) but listen for the rain…

27 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Ah, Zena. What can I say? Thank you. What a gift to me this morning.

HE has torn us.
HE will heal us.
HE has wounded us.
HE will bandage us.
It’s all from Him, for our good and His glory.

For every child needs rain. Amen. Come, Lord Jesus.

25 05 2011
Patricia (Pollywog Creek)

Yes and yes. Come, Lord Jesus.

Your joy is indeed, uncontainable!!! And rightly so. And my heart continues to skip beats as I stand in the outer courts waiting for news (and photos, of course) of Naomi’s most beautiful arrival.

26 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Ah, yes. There will be a photo frenzy for sure! Thanks for sharing our joy, Patricia. And thanks for praying. You’re such a gift.

Much love.

26 05 2011
chris

hi Jeanne,

“eager patience”: i love it! what a wonderful state to be in, not just for your famiy now, but for all of us always…

may your joy when Naomi arrives give you a foretaste of the day in which that joy will be complete, and love will be all.

love,

chris

26 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Chris. I know “eager patience” sounds like an oxymoron, but it is (and should always be, as you said) our reality. God’s ways! The wonder never fades.

“Love will be all.” So good. Thanks for that sweet word today.

26 05 2011
Jane

Jeanne,
This was a beautiful meditation. Your question, “Do I wait for him with the same hilarious joy?” was convicting for me. In my life I would add, “Do I long after him the same way I do _____?” So many ways to fill in the blank.

I’m guessing, but I think Zena’s song is found here–one of my favorites: http://www.earreverentmusic.com/songs/like_a_spring_rain

Waiting with you,
Jane

26 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Jane. That blank can be filled in far too many ways for me, too.

And thanks for the song link. Beautiful! I hadn’t heard it before. You gave me a reason to be still and just listen — perhaps the secret to learning how to long?

It’s a privilege to wait with you.

26 05 2011
Simply Darlene

Thank you for this corner of cyberland where you fill gaps with Truth and remind us of what we need to know. That’s a fine gift.

Blessings.

27 05 2011
jeannedamoff

What a lovely compliment, Darlene. Thank YOU for blessing this corner with your presence. You make it that much sweeter.

Love.

28 05 2011
Danelle

I was just memorizing John 14:1-3 with my boys. “. . . I am going to prepare a place for you. . I will come back and take you to be with me. . .” This post makes me cheer! As the room is prepared for this new baby. . Jesus is preparing our room in heaven! Thanks for these beautiful words. I found you over at Ann’s.

28 05 2011
jeannedamoff

How sweet, Danelle! Welcome, and thank you for sharing that with me. I love it when God gives glimpses that make us cheer. Blessings on you and your precious boys!

28 05 2011
Deborah Carr

She looks radiant.

How exciting – and what delicious anticipation – as you all wait for this precious child…the tiny one who carries all those bits of the world already within her. I am sure she already feels how very lucky she is…how very loved she is. And I do so love the name, Naomi.

28 05 2011
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Deborah. We’re very excited. This photo was taken a couple of months ago. She’s significantly more radiant now! 🙂

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

