June in July

19 07 2011

“If I am devoted to the cause of humanity only,
I will soon be exhausted and come to the place where my love will falter;
but if I love Jesus Christ personally and passionately,
I can serve humanity though men treat me as a door-mat.

The secret of a disciple’s life is devotion to Jesus Christ,
and the characteristic of the life is its unobtrusiveness.

It is like a corn of wheat,
which falls into the ground and dies,
but presently it will spring up
and alter the whole landscape
(John 12:24).”

I meant to read the July 19th entry in Oswald Chambers’ My Utmost for His Highest this morning, but I read the June 19th entry by mistake.

Or maybe it wasn’t by mistake at all.

I needed this bit of June in July. How about you?


Actions

Information

4 responses

19 07 2011
Daniel Farrow

I’m giving thanks to God today for your mistake that wasn’t a mistake, Jeanne. I needed to read your little bit of June in July. Thanks!

19 07 2011
Miz Melly

it’s like God’s hitting me upside the head….

19 07 2011
Grace

love that verse. what translation is this taken from?

21 07 2011
jamieahughes

This is a gorgeous reminder of our role as servants to Christ. What a treasure to find on a common summer morning. Thank you for sharing! I love your page and will be following you from now on. Soli Deo Gloria!

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

