Influence

22 08 2011


Fresh herbs are a miracle. The way the flavor pops — unmistakable yet blending to perfection, the life of the party while gently promoting and enhancing the timid.

“You are the salt of the earth . . .”

They reach roots deep into rich soil, drinking rain and basking in sunlight. Through no effort of their own, they spring up, a riot of color and texture, flourishing to bring joy and benefit to many.

“You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden.”

Oregano, basil, rosemary, thyme, waving banners of fragrant green, offering their gifts freely, happily, their scent permeating, rubbing off on the fingers, lingering in the nostrils.

But thanks be to God, who in Christ always leads us in triumphal procession, and through us spreads the fragrance of the knowledge of him everywhere.

My friend, do you think you have no influence in this world? Do you look around at the accomplishments of others and feel insignificant? If you are in Christ, you are a miracle. A new creature in Him. And as your roots go deep in His Word, His life in you springs up through no effort of your own. As you turn your face toward Him and offer yourself freely, happily, His light shines through you, and His fragrance spreads and lingers.

We aren’t meant to compare ourselves to others any more than oregano should compare itself to thyme. God chooses and uses us where and when He will, and He always chooses well, blending our gifts with those of others for maximum benefit to all.

There is one glory of the sun, and another glory of the moon, and another glory of the stars; for star differs from star in glory.

And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit.

But the path of the righteous is like the light of dawn, which shines brighter and brighter until full day.

You have much more influence than you could ever imagine. Bask in His light, flourish in Him, and bring joy to many.

Giving thanks in community for:

#206 fresh oregano that is still surviving the drought
#207 Seattle tomorrow!
#208 two weeks with the Sparrow and her parents
#209 highs in the 70s
#210 parables everywhere and the edges of His ways
#211 beautiful shining saints
#212 happy secrets
#213 conviction of sin and repentance
#214 forgiveness (this comes up on my list a lot, and mostly because I need it!)

To read more gratitude lists or share your own, click the graphic below.


Actions

Information

14 responses

22 08 2011
Jane

Jeanne,
You always seem to know what I need to hear. Thanks for being a cooling balm, a voice of truth and peace. God continues to use you to quiet my days, and for that, I am grateful.

PS: Let me know when I can join you for dinner! YUM! … :)

22 08 2011
jeannedamoff

Jane, I’m so glad my posts are timely and refreshing for you! That makes me happy. And, please, come for dinner any time. I would love that. :)

xo

22 08 2011
Melissa

Love this…. just like all of your posts!

22 08 2011
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Melissa. What a kind, encouraging thing to say. xo

22 08 2011
Maria

Hi! I am visiting for the first time and so glad I did. As Jane mentioned above your blog and post has such a calming effect. I love how you used herbs and their distinctive characteristics to showcase how we are all different yet the same in Christ.

22 08 2011
jeannedamoff

Thanks so much, Maria. I’m delighted you stopped by and welcome you here any time. :)

22 08 2011
Linda

I have read these wise words in one form or another in so many places in recent days. Perhaps the Father is whispering something to me?
How lovely to get away from this Texas summer for a little while. It will be so refreshing Jeanne. I am so sad watching everything dry up and die under this unrelenting heat. On the other hand, I am so thankful for a.c.!!!

22 08 2011
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Linda! Yes, I’m very excited about escaping the heat for a bit. I just received a confirmation email from the airline and it included a weather forecast. Mid-fifties to mid-seventies for the next week. Sounds like heaven, no?

We got a sprinkling of rain this afternoon and thanked God profusely. Oh, how we need so much more! Trusting His goodness in all things.

Love to you.

23 08 2011
Sandra Heska King

Oh my. I am drooling over these pictures, to taste and see if they are as heavenly as they look.

I hope His fragrance pops in me so that others drool to taste and see Him.

23 08 2011
Debbra @ Garlands

Thank you for the encouraging parable. What a delightful read to savor!
PS Safe travels.

24 08 2011
Michelle

I discovered you over at A Holy Experience. Thanks for the encouragement. I for one & tempted to compare every. single. day!

25 08 2011
meredith

I loved this so much… Sorry I didn’t comment at the time!
Anyway – I loved it SO much that I linked to it in my “Make Me Think Thursday” post. :)

http://journey2authenticity.blogspot.com/2011/08/make-me-think-thursday.html

28 08 2011
Tea

Thank you so much for sharing this. Your words brought me so much hope and encoragement. <3

8 07 2012
Make Me Think Thursday | My Journey to Authenticity

[...] her entire post, “Influence,” here. ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ [...]

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,531 other followers

