A Word for 2012

16 01 2012

Hey, friends. Remember me? I’m that girl who used to post photos and stories here.

And then we moved.

I honestly had no idea it would take this long to get settled. Exactly one month ago, with the help of sweet, amazing friends, we loaded a U-Haul truck, drove 162 miles west, and unloaded with the help of more sweet, amazing friends.

Then, while we were still in a daze, that twinkle-lit hurricane known as “the holidays” hit. Family members arrived and, to celebrate, we played super-fun party games like Assemble the Bookcases and Whoever Finds the Mixer First Wins. Good times.

We’re still not completely out of boxes, but I trust one day we will be. Meanwhile, we test these unknown waters and try to establish workable routines. We didn’t have internet service in our new home for the first four weeks, but I wouldn’t have had time to blog even if we’d had it. This new life includes Jacob at home full time and my parents across the street, along with Luke, Sarah, and baby Naomi. And, even though it’s a complete upheaval to former, semi-predictable ways, God keeps reminding me that this season is His gift to me. The question is, will I receive it and all its trappings with gratitude?

Last year I asked God to give me a word for the year, and He did. The word was “rest,” and I’m beginning to think it was meant to be a rest much like the one God provided for Elijah in 1 Kings 19, when He said, “Arise and eat, for the journey is too great for you.”

And he arose and ate and drank, and went in the strength of that food forty days and forty nights to Horeb, the mount of God.

And now, perhaps 2012 is the forty days and forty nights? He strengthens for such a time as this.

So I asked for a word for this year, and once again God gave. The word is “contentment.”

I’ll write more about this word soon and share what the Lord has already laid on my heart regarding its significance to me in this season. But I wanted to slip in here today, wish all of you a Happy New Year (better late?), and let you know that I haven’t forgotten you. Thanks for your love, prayers, and patience during this time of transition. I’ve felt them.

Giving thanks in community for (#337 – 352):

a home
meeting new neighbors
this season of life
watching my mother play piano
Naomi therapy
George, for so many reasons
Jacob’s tender, unselfconscious ministry
my father’s example
spending time with Sarah
Luke, for who he is
God whispers in the midst of chaos
music
the assembling of the saints
new mercies every morning
a word for the year, and the strength to get there


Actions

Information

30 responses

16 01 2012
katdish

Missed you. Happy you’re settling in to your new home and this new season.

17 01 2012
jeannedamoff

Thank you, my dear. Missed you, too. You’re welcome to visit me here any time. Katdish therapy ranks right up there with the very best. xo

16 01 2012
Diana Trautwein

Oh! It does my heart So.Much.Good to see your name in my inbox. This is lovely – and so true. Moving is tough stuff. Glad you’re settling in and your word is a great one. May God bless you with overflowing cups of contentment as you continue to adjust to this new way of living, this new rhythm of care.

17 01 2012
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Diana. Your words and prayers are like a warm hug. Love to you.

16 01 2012
vicki

SO GOOD to hear from you! Look forward to more as you are able.

17 01 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Vicki!

16 01 2012
Linda

I have missed you and am so happy to see you here. Can you believe the word the Father gave me is “content.” We have a move in our near future (the home is in the process of being built now), and the word is fitting in so many ways. I look forward to hearing what you will share and will remember to pray for you during this time of settling in. (Just between you and me Jeanne, I dread the unpacking!).

17 01 2012
jeannedamoff

How cool is that? We must be twins. 🙂 I’ll pray for you, too, LInda. One box at a time . . .

16 01 2012
Sharon O

Welcome back, it was good to see your writing again.

17 01 2012
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Sharon!

16 01 2012
Robin Lawrimore

Yes, welcome back. And I like “twinkle lit hurricane”. : )

17 01 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Robin. 🙂

16 01 2012
Daniel Farrow

I’ve missed hearing from you to Jeanne. I know what it means to move. The last time I had a major transition was in August 2010. I moved from North Carolina to the seventh state I’ve lived in better known as Missouri. I’ve also lived in Europe and Latin America and am preparing to travel to Europe again this year. So, I know what it is that you’re going through.

Abba, I ask that you bless a sister in Christ whom I’ve never met but feel like I know and bring her the very word you gave her, contentment, which is the work of Christ in her the hope of glory. I also pray that you would continue to speak to her and increase the knowledge of you and the experience of your presence in her life. In the name of Yeshua (Jesus) who is our Messiah (Christ), Amen. Grace to you in this season! 😀

17 01 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks so much, Daniel, for your kind words and thoughtful prayer. Amen, and grace to you, too.

16 01 2012
deb colarossi

Just wow to all of it – would you ever have imagined?
I wish I could peek into your head and heart for more of how all of this is going.
I wish you peace. In abundance.

17 01 2012
jeannedamoff

Sweet Deb, thank you for your heart and friendship. I receive and lean hard into that abundant peace. Love you. xo

17 01 2012
Patricia (Pollywog Creek)

Miss you so…and yet I knew and imagined all of it…and was God not so, so good to give you the perfect words for the gifts of this season? Welcome home – all of it. XOX

17 01 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks, dear Patricia. Your tender heart is always a safe place for me. I’ve missed you, too, and look forward to venturing back into the comfort of your photos and graceful thoughts. xo

17 01 2012
Nancy Franson (@nancyfranson)

I’ve missed your lovely words. So nice to see you back. Looking forward to your thoughts in your year of contentment.

17 01 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Nancy. I feel so warmly welcomed back. xo

17 01 2012
pamntexas

I shouted out loud when I saw your post in my in box. Blessings to you and yours!

17 01 2012
jeannedamoff

Your comment made my day. Thanks for loving and missing me. Blessings to you and yours, too, Pam. xo

17 01 2012
Carol Garborg

Nice to have you back. I got a little tired of all those boxes.

17 01 2012
jeannedamoff

Ha! I’m tired of those boxes, too. And I have to look at them in person. Want to come help me finish unpacking? 😉

17 01 2012
Daniel Farrow

If I had the car and the means to do it, I’d be there all the way from Kansas City in a heartbeat to help. 😀

18 01 2012
Barbara Thayer

Jeanne what a blessing to read what you have written and to know that God is opening a new chapter in your life. Each year is a new adventure as I like to call them. I don’t want to know what is around the next corner…I only want to know that through it all God is holding my hand and leading the way. May you be blessed in your new home and may God grant you the commitment you need this year! With blessings and love!

18 01 2012
jeannedamoff

Amen, Barbara. I like to look at each new year as an adventure, too, and I’m with you about not knowing what’s around the corner. He knows. That’s enough for me. Thanks so much for the blessings! Love to you.

25 01 2012
Banishing the other “ments” « The View From Here

[…] Contentment has enemies. They prowl in the shadows, testing doors and windows, looking for any way in. And once they get their foot in the door, there is no peace, no sanctuary, no room for contentment until they’ve been banished. […]

25 01 2012
Sandra Heska King

It’s been a long time since I’ve moved. I actually used to like the new start.

That photo is stunning. Red is my new favorite color–speaks hope to me. What I hope is wrapping you in this new season.

5 02 2012
Deborah Carr

I’m so happy to see your contentment…and the settling into place that you’re experiencing. Missed your beautiful words and images.

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

