Called by Name

29 03 2012

Art is a strange calling. Most people appreciate it at least on some level, but there are plenty who would label it as non-essential. If society had to choose between, say, farmers and artists, or doctors and artists, it’s an easy guess who would land on the street corner holding up a (gorgeously lettered) sign declaring, “Will paint/sing/dance/write for food.”

I suppose it could be argued that we don’t need art to survive, but that doesn’t mean it’s expendable.

Just ask Bezalel . . .

 

After four months of post-moving distraction, I’m back in action at The Master’s Artist. Please join me there for the rest of this post? I’d love to hear your thoughts on the artist’s calling. Thanks, friends.


Actions

Information

2 responses

30 03 2012
Simply Darlene

Just the tilt of this image makes it a new picture. Let’s just see what other beauty you’ve shared…

blessings.

4 04 2012
ljbmom

That image is breathtaking.

Makes me so appreciate the eye of the artist. In the old days, the church was often the patron of the artist–realizing that some gifts were just too valuable not to support. And then, the Enlightenment. I think we are swinging back. Or maybe it’s just me? How could I see God without beauty?

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

