Thirty-three {and counting}

5 05 2012

Today is our anniversary. Thirty-three years we’ve been climbing this hill together, leaning on and learning each other, sometimes loving well, sometimes (most definitely) not. We’ve forgiven much and been forgiven much. We’ve tasted the deep sweet and the twisting bitter, and in all things we’ve found Truth to be true. God is faithful. A redeemer. A restorer of locust-eaten years. He takes broken, flawed, parched white bones and breathes into them His very own life and beauty.

And so he gets up early to go buy orange juice (because he knows I don’t like the kind with calcium), and he smiles like a kid when I come out to breakfast and find the rose and the card. Later he’ll take me to dinner, and every time he mentions something about it, there’s that boyish grin again, and you know, for me, I think that smile is the best gift. It holds the years with all their pain and loss like dandelion fluff — weightless in the winds of this joy.

And this feels exactly right. Because love is in the rising early, the eagerness to please, and the same delighted smile that banished the fears of a twenty-one-year-old bride thirty-three years ago.

I am my beloved’s, and he is mine. Here’s to the rest of the climb.


Actions

Information

21 responses

5 05 2012
Patricia Hunter

Happy Anniversary, Jeanne!!! And yes, cheers to redemption and “the rest of the climb.” Much love, Patricia

5 05 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks, dear friend. xo

5 05 2012
Sharon O

Beautiful… yes it is a journey. We are at 38 and what an adventure it has been. Love your dining room it is so pretty. The flower is just so precious too.

5 05 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Sharon! Congratulations on your 38. “Adventure” is a useful word, no? 🙂

This is actually our kitchen table. Glad you like it!

5 05 2012
cindyinpa

Congratulations on your anniversary! It is beautiful to read about his happiness in making you happy today. Blessings!

5 05 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Cindy! He’s a sweetie.

5 05 2012
lynnmosher

Congratulations! Happy anniversary! Such a sweet tribute to your years together. May the Lord bless you with many more.

5 05 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Lynn! And Amen to that prayer.

5 05 2012
Tatia

Happy Anniversary, Jeanne and George! I agree, Jeanne, about the smile being the best gift. It’s been 20 years for us, and, when he smiles for only me, I’m almost lost in the moment 🙂 He did (and still does) make me feel captivating!

5 05 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Tatia! I can’t believe you’ve been married twenty years. I always felt so much older than you. 😉 Love to you and Sam and your precious family.

5 05 2012
Glynn

Happy anniversary, Jeanne!

5 05 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks!

5 05 2012
lschontos

Happy Anniversary to both of you! I love the “and counting” part Jeanne, because truly it is this commitment to choose love through all of the stuff of life that holds us together.
It has been 45 years for us. I couldn’t agree more; it is in those things that never change.

5 05 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Linda. Love you! You’re an inspiration. xo

6 05 2012
FlowerLady

Happy 33rd Anniversary Jeanne and DH.

Your first paragraph was beautiful!

Oh how glorious is our God.

Love and hugs ~ FlowerLady

7 05 2012
jeannedamoff

Thank you, FlowerLady, for the well wishes and kind words! Yes, our God is glorious. Love to you, too.

6 05 2012
Daniel Farrow

Congratulations to you, Jeanne! I’m still trusting God to bring that wonderful woman into my life that I can climb the hill with. I know this much is true, though, He will make my life what it is in His time even though I’m close to 40 years of age and still single.

7 05 2012
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Daniel! Blessings as you seek the Lord’s perfect design for your life. I feel certain your faith in His goodness and purposes is an inspiration to other singles who desire to be married.

7 05 2012
Daniel Farrow

By God’s grace, Jeanne. I’m also blessed that I have a good example to follow in my parents. My Dad was 40 years old when he got married and he and my Mom will be married for 40 years at the end of this June. What a testimony of the Lord’s beauty and waiting for His perfect timing! 🙂

7 05 2012
Simply Darlene

Congrats and Happy (belated) Anniversary day to you both. By the way, I like the produce images — your handiwork?

Blessings.

7 05 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Darlene! Yes, those are my photos. The produce section of the grocery store is one of my happy places. 🙂

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

