Meant to be

28 05 2012

Life is a dance. The moments unfold this divine choreography, with each varied choice of each independent soul conspiring to create a synchronized whole.

Or so I believe. Do you believe?

And so she sat reading words, and in them a trembling but faithful heart grappled with the cycle of life, the inevitability of death, brokenness and mystery. And behind the words, she sensed the gentle pressure of an unseen Hand deftly leading around every obstacle, from longing and asking to remembering and accepting, until He landed His beloved back on rock-solid truth: The flesh and heart may fail, but this grace? It’s unshakable. It upholds and enfolds, and it explodes “like bits of blazing embers rupturing all the dark — lighting us with a love  that gives us the gift of eyes that see . . .”

And he, unaware that words waltzed with mystery on her screen, picked up his father’s guitar and sang a song he wrote in February of 2008, when life was a Sahara, and he, too, longed to understand. He was alone (but not alone) in his little house in Cote d’Ivoire, the land and his soul both aching for rain, and all that yearning poured itself into words and music he sang then and again now.

This is what she heard:

I will say to the firefly, I will ask, “How do you shine?
And why do you fly so high into the night sky?”
I will say to the falling star, “How is it that you have come so far?
And do you know who you are falling for?”

And that river runs her way down to the sea

And that willow, she just sits and weeps so sadly


I will say to the ocean wide, “How far are you from side to side
And why are you so keen on keeping the two apart?”
I will say to the mountains tall, “How is that you have yet to fall?
What is it that keeps you standing so very strong?”

And that river runs her way down to the sea

And that willow, she just sits and weeps so sadly

I will say to the winter snow, I will ask, “Where do you go?
Why are you so quick to melt away?”
I will say to the springtime rain, “It’s so nice to see you again,
But why is it that you will never ever stay?”

And that river runs her way down to the sea

And that willow, she just sits and weeps so sadly

I will say to the summer sun, “Where do you go when your course is run?
Oh, is heaven really all that far away from us?”
And I will say to the autumn leaves, “Why is it that life is so sweet,
Yet still we all die to gain eternity?”

That river has gone run herself to the sea
And I’ve seen that willow weep, but now she’s clapping,
And I have heard each silence sing so gracefully,
So when my sisters stood, they stood to tell me,
“This was meant to be.
All your pain was meant to be
And oh, your hope, well it was meant to be
Or so I believe
Or so I believe
Or so I believe.
Do you believe?”

So, will you be my firefly? Will you dance with me tonight?
And when that morning comes, we will both fly away.
And when that morning comes, we will both fly away.

Life is a dance. The moments unfold this divine choreography, with each varied choice of each independent soul conspiring to create a synchronized whole.

And all this was meant to be. Or so I believe.

Do you believe?

* * *

{Luke was kind enough to sing it again for a very non-professional iPhone recording. Click here to listen. Oh, and apologies for Jacob’s “humming” at the beginning and George’s kitchen noises. We live here. :-)}

Giving thanks in community for (#474 -492):

the gift of eyes that see
music, “humming,” clanking dishes: life’s soundtrack
the unassuming way Luke wears his gifts
unexpected delights
Josiah and Mandy’s wedding
paper birds in a playful breeze
Naomi and Neva
Jade in a straw fedora
Elise’s freedom song
Meghan’s voice
seeing Steven
exuberant joy
old friendships
new friendships
hope and pain
the dance of life
morning

and on this Memorial Day

I’m thankful for and to
those who’ve given their lives
or their loved ones
in service to our country.

(Thank you.)


Actions

Information

14 responses

28 05 2012
marybethketchum

Wow! You have a gift with words. Thank you so much for sharing!

Mary Beth
newlifesteward.com

31 05 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks so much, Mary Beth.

28 05 2012
Cindy in PA

Your words bless me tremendously especially when you name “life’s soundtrack.” Sometimes I don’t appreciate it like I should. Thank you sharing your list this week. Blessings!

31 05 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Cindy. Blessings to you, too!

28 05 2012
Tatia Cook

Loved listening to Luke sing! He’s still 4 in my mind, you know 🙂 My daughter, Hope, listened, also, and believes that” he sounds like the Jars of Clay guy” (her words).

31 05 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Tatia! Wasn’t he a cute little guy back then? 🙂 I’ll pass along Hope’s observation to Luke. He thinks he sounds like a drunken donkey (his words). “Jars of Clay guy” is much better.

28 05 2012
Beth

I enjoyed Luke’s singing and the message of the words. This post was lovely and you do have a gift of writing.

31 05 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks so much, Beth, for taking the time to listen and for your kind words.

28 05 2012
Alene Snodgrass (@AleneSnodgrass)

The gift of eyes that see — love love love this gift. Love being able to see amid life’s music track. Beautifully put. Blessings!
http://www.positivelyalene.com/

31 05 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Alene!

31 05 2012
tonia

So very beautiful. I am waiting for a quiet moment to listen, but be assured I’m going to. Thank you for sharing all your gifts so freely.

31 05 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Tonia. Love to you, friend, and happy anniversary to you and Mr. P. xo

31 05 2012
Emily Wierenga

oh friend. you write pure poetry. it’s like your words have wings. love you.

5 06 2012
jeannedamoff

Thanks, dear Emily. Coming from you that’s quite the compliment! Love you, too. (Also, silly word press diverted your comment to my spam folder, and I just found it. Sorry I’ve been so long responding. xo)

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

