My beloved speaks

20 01 2013

DSC_0675_2pm

My beloved speaks and says to me:
“Arise, my love, my beautiful one,
and come away,
for behold, the winter is past;
the rain is over and gone.
The flowers appear on the earth,
the time of singing has come,
and the voice of the turtledove
is heard in our land.
The fig tree ripens its figs,
and the vines are in blossom;
they give forth fragrance.
Arise, my love, my beautiful one,
and come away.
O my dove, in the clefts of the rock,
in the crannies of the cliff,
let me see your face,
let me hear your voice,
for your voice is sweet,
and your face is lovely.

~Song of Solomon 2:10-14

* * *

My beloved speaks.

Do I listen?


Actions

Information

9 responses

20 01 2013
Sandra Heska King

You know, we almost read this at my mom’s memorial service. (The priest wasn’t big on it, as I remember.)

And this photo…so precious.

20 01 2013
jeannedamoff

Oh, Sandra! I think that passage is absolutely beautiful for a memorial service. Well, whether it was read or not, your mom was swept into her Beloved’s embrace. Love to you, my friend. And thank you.

20 01 2013
Rona

How beautiful…I love the photo.

20 01 2013
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Rona.

20 01 2013
Sharon O

wow that is just beautiful.

20 01 2013
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Sharon.

21 01 2013
Melissa from the Blue House

I’ve read Song of Solomon so many times, being a life-long church brat with a degree in Bible, and never ‘got’ it. Amazing how reading these words just now, after I’ve been in a blissfully happy marriage to the man of my dreams for a year, makes such a difference. Those words are beautiful! Who knew?! Suddenly I want to read that whole book over again… the winter is past, indeed! 🙂

21 01 2013
jeannedamoff

Praising the Lord with you, Melissa, for redeeming the beauty of marriage in your life and quickening this scripture to you! Your comment made my day.

16 02 2013
Lydiacts

That’s so a heart warming picture, word and message in short words. I wish I could keep this, like if I could have it on my wall or something. It is such a time for most of us and I found this as I was searching for an image in google by typing ‘time of singing’… it’s where I am and I have started singing, though in the actual & visual world, there’s nothing to be seen yet, but I know for sure in my heart, it’s on its way. Thank you for sharing & many blessings on your talents & abilities!

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

