my beloved speaks

17 03 2013

IMG_0187pm

My beloved speaks and says to me:
“Arise, my love, my beautiful one,
and come away,
for behold, the winter is past;
the rain is over and gone.
The flowers appear on the earth,
the time of singing
has come.”

Song of Solomon 2:10-12

* * *

{And here’s a little something extra:
a song based primarily on this passage,
written by Ernie and Debby Rettino,
recorded by George and me
years ago.

I love singing with my beloved.
Hope you enjoy it.}

* * *

With Deidra

and Sandra


Actions

Information

22 responses

17 03 2013
Sandra Heska King

Jeanne… so, so, so beautiful. I hope you don’t mind if I link this post up with my Still Saturday post. It’s perfect. xoxo

17 03 2013
jeannedamoff

I don’t mind at all, Sandie! I’m honored. Would you like me to add the button to my post? xo

17 03 2013
Sandra Heska King

Only if you like and have time. I just don’t want folks to miss this. 🙂

17 03 2013
jeannedamoff

Thanks again. I added it. 🙂

17 03 2013
Sheila Seiler Lagrand

The time of singing. Yes, yes.

17 03 2013
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Sheila.

17 03 2013
FlowerLady Lorraine

This is oh so lovely.

17 03 2013
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Lorraine.

17 03 2013
Carrie

What stunning photographs! If you hadn’t included a single word, their beauty alone took my breath away!

17 03 2013
Lyli @ 3dLessons4Life

Beautiful 🙂

17 03 2013
Diana Trautwein

OH, OH thank you for this lovely, lovely song sung by such wonderful voices. Perfect – restful – after preaching for the first time in two years and experiencing the subsequent exhaustion of that humbling experience. Thank you. This is perfect. Exquisite.

18 03 2013
jeannedamoff

Dear Diana, I’m so glad the song blessed you! Thank you for your gracious words. Much love.

17 03 2013
Rona

I’m stopping by from Jumping Tandem’s Sunday.
What a beautiful photos and wonderful words.
I hope you have a blessed week!

17 03 2013
Lisa @besidestillwaters.blogspot

Stunning light and shadows. Unique collage of blooms illustrates Solomon’s Song beautifully.

17 03 2013
Jody Lee Collins

Jeanne–how remarkable to read/see someone who even knows who Ernie and Debbie Rettino are/were……..(I was saved at Calvary Chapel). I’ve been thinking about these Song of Solomon verses as spring is bursting around here (the Pacific Northwest).

And your voice? beautiful.

18 03 2013
jeannedamoff

Thank you, Jody! Yes, we had Ernie and Debby on vinyl back in the 70’s. And Phil Keaggy. And Love Song. And John Michael Talbot. And a lot of other pioneers in Christian contemporary music. I suppose that makes us old, but let’s go with “vintage.” 😉

Thanks for listening. xo

18 03 2013
Joanne Norton

I wanted to listen, but couldn’t get it to fit onto my computer somehow. Will ask my husband later. Probably need to just push a certain button. I ain’t computer-bright, and he’s an expert.

Nice sharing Words, though. Heart-touching ones, drawing us closer and closer to our Lord.

19 03 2013
jeannedamoff

Thanks, Joanne! I’m honored by your “want to.” And your kind words. xo

19 03 2013
Tatia Cook

I know that song and those voices!! You sang that at my wedding many years ago 🙂 How wonderful to hear it again! Makes me miss you. Praying for you, your mom and dad, and others in your family frequently…God has laid you on my heart, my friend. May you see His Beauty all around you, even in the midst of sadness, confusion, and frustration. xoxo

27 03 2013
jeannedamoff

How sweet! I’m glad we sang that song at your wedding.

Thank you so much for your prayers. Mom is now under hospice care. A chest x-ray revealed her cancer is back and has gone systemic. We haven’t been given a prognosis regarding time, but we desire to make the most of the days, no matter how many or few they are.

Much love.

27 03 2013
Sheila Seiler Lagrand

I finally, today, went back to listen. Oh, so beautiful! I’m glad I returned.

5 04 2013
jeannedamoff

Thank you! ❤

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

