A Friend at All Times: Meet Bogenbay, Bota, Dennis, Sasha, and Evgenia

15 04 2013

treesparrow

Are not five sparrows sold for two pennies?
And not one of them is forgotten before God.
Why, even the hairs of your head are all numbered.
Fear not; you are of more value than many sparrows.
Luke 12:6-7

“The strength of our faith is in direct proportion to our level of belief
that God will do exactly what He has promised.
Faith has nothing to do with feelings, impressions, outward appearances,
nor the probability or improbability of an event.
If we try to couple these things with faith,
we are no longer resting on the Word of God,
because faith is not dependent on them.
Faith rests on the pure Word of God alone.
And when we take Him at His Word,
our hearts are at peace.”

~ George Mueller

Anyone can talk about faith, but when someone like George Mueller talks, I listen. This man of God refused to manipulate anyone by any means except through prayer and the Holy Spirit’s prompting, and he saw God provide again and again for the orphans under his care. He discovered the secret of Luke 12:6-7. God sees. God knows. And God loves His children much more than you or I ever could.

As I write these posts about A Friend at All Times and this opportunity to help special needs teens and young adults go to summer camp, I’m asking God to bring them to the attention of the people He wants to touch. I’m asking, and Catherine and Zhanna and the rest of the team are asking, and God is answering, not with a tidal wave, but with a gentle rain, sparrow by sparrow. I truly meant what I said in the first post, that I would never lay on you a burden that is not directly from the Lord. I also mean it when I say I believe there is no greater joy than taking the yoke He offers and carrying it with Him. And I’m well aware this particular yoke is not for everyone. But it is for some.

So I ask in faith. I ask with peaceful joy. And I thank you for listening not to me, but to Him. And to those of you who have heard Him say, “This is for you” and have responded with prayers or gifts? Thank you so much. He sees. May you receive abundance in joy in return for your wealth of generosity.

And now it’s time to meet some more special friends.

Bogenbay

-7

Name:  Bogenbay  Aristangaleyev
Birthdate: January 4, 1993
I love: music.
I know: how to read.
I like to: do exercises.
I collect: disks.
I eat: mante (Central Asian dumplings).
I know how to: dance.
I read: books, articles.
I watch: movies.
I dream: of walking.

Bota

-8

Name:  Bota Maxhitova
Birthday: December 25, 1997
I love: to clean.
I can: go bowling.
I know how to: write, draw, and cut.
I watch: cartoons, pictures.

Dennis

-9

Name:  Dennis Zaetzev
Birthday:  April 25, 1990
I love: to go to Young Life club!
I know: the Russian language.
I do: go to Mega mall.
I collect: the Harry Potter books.
I eat: plov.
I know how to: swim in the pool.
I read: the Bible.
I watch: Lord of the Rings, the Matrix.

Sasha

-17

Name: Sasha Abakulova
Birthday: January 18
I love: to listen to music.
I know: everything.
I can: play on the computer.
I collect: nothing.
I eat: plov (rice pilaf).
I know how to: play on the computer.
I read: nothing.
I watch: movies.
I dream: about walking outside.

Evgenia

-10 -12 -11

Name:  Evgenia (Zhenya) Timchenko
Birthdate:  December 8, 1973
I love: to dance, girls, ancient history.
I know: computers.
I spend time: sitting at home, helping my relatives.
I eat: cakes, everything sweet!
I know how to: play ping-pong.
I read: historical books.
I watch: action and historical movies.
I dream: that there would be peace in the world and that I would become a superhero.

I had to include all three photos of Evgenia, because I couldn’t choose a favorite. What a precious, expressive face. He dreams of becoming a superhero, but does he have any idea he is already much more important to God than any superhero ever could be? They all are. Every hair of their heads is numbered.

Will you pray with me that they and their dear, overworked mothers will know Him and His tender, unfailing, unforgetting love? May they know the faith that has nothing to do with feelings, impressions, or outward appearances. And may their hearts be flooded with the peace and freedom of taking Him at His Word.

One sparrow at a time.

* * *

Info for interested donors:

Donations can be made by check or credit card.
Please send checks (any amount appreciated!) to:

Orphanos
P.O. Box 1057
Cordova, TN 38088
901.458.9500 ext 223

Include a separate note indicating the gift is for
“Camp Scholarship, A Friend at All Times, Kazakhstan Young Life”
This category is not available for online giving at Orphanos,
but you can give by credit card at the phone number provided above.

$250 covers the cost of one camper
$200 covers the cost for a mom

Your gifts are tax deductible.

If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to ask in the comment section.

Thank you!
(With all my heart.)


Actions

Information

6 responses

15 04 2013
Adrienne

Is there any way we can donate besides checks?

15 04 2013
jeannedamoff

Hi, Adrienne! Catherine saw your comment and called Orphanos to inquire. They confirmed that they can take credit card donations over the phone. Thanks for asking! Others may want to know as well, so I’ll add this information to the posts! And thanks for wanting to help. We appreciate it so much.

Love, Jeanne

15 04 2013
healthiestbeauty

Reblogged this on The healthiest beauty.

16 04 2013
Adrienne

Hey, One more question: when do we need to donate by? Thanks!

16 04 2013
jeannedamoff

Hi, again, Adrienne. That’s another good question. The camp is the last week of June. I haven’t heard a specific deadline for donations, but I will find out and let you know!

17 04 2013
jeannedamoff

I asked Catherine about this, and she said the camp begins on June 27 but they will be paying bills into July. She also said that any donation giving at any time will go directly to the work of A Friend at All Times, so it’s never too late! Hope that helps. 🙂

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

