Open Letter to Jordan Spieth: An Update and an Invitation!

13 04 2016

-1

Can I just say, you people blew me away? Never did I suspect my crazy idea would capture the imaginations of thousands of good-hearted people who’d go the extra mile to bring it to Jordan’s attention. You scattered that little digital dream far and wide, and I thank you again and again with all my heart!

I’m happy to report that I not only received a reply, the letter was delivered to Jordan’s parents within a few hours of my publishing it. As it turns out, my cousin is close friends with Jordan’s mom. (Who knew? Apparently I need to get better acquainted with my own relatives!) A friend also forwarded the post to his dad. They both sent gracious replies — just the sort you would expect from people who raised a son like Jordan. Though they didn’t go so far as to say my imaginary golf tournament can’t become a reality someday, they did say that Jordan is currently overwhelmed with commitments, and their family also has their own beautiful foundation that benefits organizations serving people with special needs. Jordan’s first obligation is to those organizations.

So, the answer is . . . maybe. Someday. But meanwhile, one of my goals has already been accomplished! Like I said in the letter, “Dallas is an affluent city with lots of beautiful, generous souls living in it, but most of them don’t even know Young Life Capernaum exists.” Well now — thanks to all of you who shared the letter — many more people DO know Young Life Capernaum exists! And while we can still hope for a possible golf tournament in the future, there are fantastic opportunities already on the table and plenty of ways to bless the beautiful souls served by this ministry.

Which brings me to an exciting invitation.

12841385_10103308859061882_1253938755952989196_o

If you live in the Dallas area (or would like to come pay us a visit), Young Life Capernaum is hosting a benefit concert on Saturday, April 30, at The Village Church Dallas. And guess who’s performing, y’all? Andrew Peterson, Jason Gray, and Christopher Williams! Seriously!

You can get all the details and buy your tickets here. You can also get tickets at the door, but I wouldn’t wait and risk the concert selling out. If I were you, I’d go buy my tickets right now.

And if you don’t live in Dallas? You can still give a donation, or get involved with Young Life Capernaum in your own community.

Learn the secret Jordan Spieth and so many of us know so well — that people with special needs are one of God’s best gifts to any family, community, or church.

Our dream golf tournament may have to wait, but our celebration doesn’t have to! There’s gonna be a party in Dallas on April 30, with great music and great friends for a great cause. If you come, look for me. I’ll be the one dancing with Jacob in the aisles.

Hope to see you there!


Actions

Information

4 responses

13 04 2016
D. Farrow

I prayed this would happen Jeanne. WOW!!! I’m so excited by the response of Jordan Spieth & his family. I pray that they make it a priority for that benefit golf tournament to happen real soon. Maybe both his organization & yours can work together. Who knows!!! 😀

13 04 2016
jeannedamoff

Thanks so much, Daniel! It would be amazing if the Spieth Family Foundation decided to partner with Young Life Capernaum! That’s a good prayer! 🙂

13 04 2016
D. Farrow

Lord Jesus, please make this happen. Please put it on Jordan’s heart and on his Mom & Dad’s heart to do this soon. In Jesus’ Name, Amen! 🙂

13 04 2016
jodyo70

How amazing is our God….above and beyond and more than. Andrew Peterson? Seriously? wish I lived in Dallas. So proud of you for following your crazy dreams.

Your comments are a gift. Please know I read each one with gratitude.

